Ángele Dei, qui custos es mei …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in æternum! Amen.

Guardian Angels

Memorial of the Holy Guardian Angels

Before I get into my post, I wish to ask for your prayers for a special intention. One of my friends from college contacted me on Facebook telling me that a teenage girl (14 years old) that she knows is dealing with an unplanned pregnancy and her family may be pressuring her to get an abortion. The young mother is under a lot of stress considering her age and the situation. Please pray to the Lord through Our Lady of Life that the girl choose life and that she receive as much love and support as she needs to make that decision and follow through with it. Abortion is not a solution to a “problem.” In my experience with post-abortive women (AQ had its fair share), they tend to get the procedure because a.) they felt there are no other alternative and/or b.) they were pressured into it by family or boyfriend.

Áve María, grátia pléna, Dóminus técum. Benedícta tu in muliéribus, et benedíctus frúctus véntris túi, Iésus.
Sáncta María, Máter Déi, óra pro nóbis peccatóribus, nunc et in hóra mórtis nóstrae. Ámen.

Gratias ago tibi.

Guardian Angel

Today is the Memorial of the Holy Guardian Angels.  Every person ever conceived (not just born) have a guardian angel (at least one, some say we can have more and who are we to limit the generosity of God?).  You don’t need to be Catholic (though you ought to be lol) to have one.  The very fact that you were created earn you an angel to guard you.  And you don’t need to be a saint to have a guardian angel.  I have one.  You have one.  The Pope has one.  The atheist down the street has one.  The Wicca you knew from college has one (I knew a few).  The criminal has one.  The President has one (he should listen to his a bit more).  Hitler had one (ditto).  As did Stalin and Osama bin Laden. As does that lady or man you always see in church (I’ll bet you they have a strong relationship with theirs).

Guardian Angel

Guardian angels are one of the first gifts God gives us besides life.  Once we are conceived, he is with us until we die and then he presents us to God.  Can you imagine the sorrow of the angels of children killed by abortion?  Can you imagine the sorrow of angels whose charges are killed before their time?

Our angels protect us from both spiritual and temporal harm though I have read that the focus is on our spiritual welfare since our eternal souls are at stake.  Though I don’t think we should put limits on the abilities of the angels (only God can).

Since I want to go to bed at a decent hour (I have been rather tired of late, I think it’s the change in weather), here are a few links to some good blog posts pertaining to different aspects of the Holy Guardian Angels:

Terry Nelson at Abbey-Roads has his post “Is belief in Guardian Angels doctrinal?”

Father Z at WDtPRS has a post for the Memorial of the Holy Guardian Angels including his concession pertaining to pious imagery.

Father Ryan Erlenbush at The New Theological Movement (excellent Theology blog) has a post that answers the question: “Can my guardian angel read my mind?”  He even answers the popular question about whether is permissible to name one’s angel.  In short, no.

Guardian Angel

The “Angel of God” prayer was one of the first prayers I learned as a little one.  My mother would not tuck us in and kiss us good-night until we had said this prayer. It was a good way to help us develop a habit of prayer at a young age.

Angel of God, my guardian dear
to whom God’s love commits me here.
Ever this day/night be at my side
to light, to guard, to rule and guide.
Amen.

I later learned the Latin:

Angele Dei,
qui custos es mei,
me, tibi commissum pietate superna,
illumina, custodi,
rege et guberna.
Amen.

I have always had a devotion to my angel.  At one point, I had named him Michael Aloysius (take a wild guess why those names!).  I soon learned that it’s not good to name one’s guardian angel since naming implies ownership when the only one who owns the angels is the Lord so He’s already named them.  Who are we to re-name them when God has given them the perfect names?  Now, I just call mine “Angel” or if I feel fancy “Angele Dei” (Latin FTW).

My angel has saved my rear more times than I can probably and would probably dare to share herein.  Let me just say that he probably has a perpetual palm print on his face from all the *facepalms* he has done.

Like the Uruk Hai from “The Lord of the Rings”:

Uruk Hai

Though I am sure mine is not nearly this hideous.

I am quite sure mine is an absolutely sublime beauty to behold.  Just sayin’.

In fact, I can attest to the assistance of my angel with a very recent anecdote.  I came home from Mass today after my Rosary walk.  I came up to my room and changed into my lounging clothes.  I realized that I had not put away the Rosary that I had used yesterday (I have a few Rosaries I use during the week).  This Rosary is my Confirmation Rosary that my parents gave me when I was in 8th grade.  It is has white beads with two hand-painted roses on them with sterling silver crucifix and Miraculous Medal centerpiece.  They got it for me from the Basilica of the National Shrine of the Immaculate Conception in Washington, DC when my 8th grade class was there for our DC trip.

I am very protective of that Rosary because of the sentimental value attached to it.  I also put my first Saint Michael medal on it as a dangle after I thought I had lost it, gotten a new one, and found the original one once again.

I thought it was on my nightstand.

No dice.

I checked my bed and the floor around my bed in case it fell.

Nope.

*blood pressure increases*

I checked my mother’s room in case it fell out of my pocket while in her room (we share a bathroom).

No luck.

I am starting to freak out because I will never forgive myself if I lose this Rosary.

I ask my angel, “Help me find my Rosary, I can’t lose this one.  Of all my Rosaries, not this one.”

I go back into my mother’s room and look again but in vain.

Then a random thought pops into my head.

“Check your jeans pocket.”

That wasn’t my thought.

I pick up my jeans and say aloud, “I hope you’re right.”

I check one pocket.

Nothing.

I check the rear pockets.

No beads.

I check the last front pocket.

“Deo gratias!

There it was in my jeans pocket right where it had occurred.  I am convinced it was my angel.  So I thank him very much and I put my Rosary back into my black velvet Rosary sack I have in my purse (I have about five Rosaries in my purse at all times not including the ones I give to the kids for doing  something well or something kind … I used to hand out holy cards).

Guardian Angel

Have a devotion to your angel.  Pray to your angel often.  Ask for his help and protection always.  Make a prayer of consecration to your angel.  In times of trouble and temptation, ask him to help you overcome this attack of the Evil One.  Love your angel.  Thank your angel daily for all that he does for you.  Thank God for the gift of your angel who is most faithful to keeping watch over you in all your ways and all your days.  You will never find a more faithful companion throughout life than your angel (and Christ and Our Lady).

Here is a simple act of consecration to one’s guardian angel:

Holy Guardian Angel,
You “continually behold the face of our Father in Heaven (Saint Mattew 18:10). God entrusted me to you from the very beginning of my life. I thank you with all my heart for you loving care. I commit myself to you and promise you my love and fidelity.

I beg you, protect me against my own weakness and against the attacks of the wicked spirits; enlighten my mind and my heart so that I may always know and accomplish the will of God; and lead me to union with God the Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. Amen.

I got that prayer from a prayer card I received from Opus Sanctorum Angelorum.

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who will be pursuing her MA in Theology at Sacred Heart Major Seminary and who holds a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Devotion to the Angels, Feast Days, Guardian Angels, Saints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ángele Dei, qui custos es mei …

  1. This is a great post Allie! I’m really enjoying reading your blog :)

What do you think?

