Something has to change …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in æternum!  Amen.

Fifth Sunday of Ordinary Time (Quinquagesima for all my fellow trads)

Yes.  Something has to change.  And I came to that decision when I was at the Basilica in DC two weeks ago (I haven’t forgotten about part two of my March for Life post … just been busy and I have to write this post … you will see why).

Veiling

I am going to resume veiling at my home parish.

To Purgatory with anyone who has the moxie or cajones to judge me.  I have to do this.  I want to do this.  I have wanted to do this.  But fear of what others will say and think has kept me from doing so.

Not anymore.

Why?

I am sick to death of being and feeling like a hypocrite.  This is between me and God.  No one else.

I am sick to death of opening my purse in church at my home parish to grab my phone to pray my Office and I see the organza bag in which my veil is and I can’t put it on.  More like won’t put it on though I want to.  It pains me every time.

I am sick to death of having to hide who I am at the very church where I have grown up.  Where I have contributed God only knows how many hours (paid and unpaid … mostly unpaid … but that’s beside the point here) of service (and I didn’t do it for the recompense or the prestige … I did it because I LOVE THE LORD AND HIS CHURCH … NOTHING MORE … NOTHING LESS) doing pretty much anything that needed to be done (and I loved every second of it).

I am sick to death of there being a big deal made when a young woman has the moxie to veil in church.  I could not care less if no one else is doing it.  I have been an outsider my whole life.  Not going to change anything now.

And I am not doing it to “call attention to myself.”  I am painfully introverted.  I hate it when attention is called to me.  (Then why do I have a blog?  Because therapy is expensive and my confessors and spiritual director deal with me and my issues enough … God love ‘em.)

Our lady of humility

I do it because I feel called to it.  I feel called to model my life after Our Lady who was docile, submissive, obedient, humble, modest, and so many other virtues that I lack terribly and hope, by her intercession and the Good Lord’s grace, to grow in over the course of my life however long or short the Lord deign it to be.

I do it because it is an external sign of reverence, since lying prostrate whenever I am in the Presence of the Lord is not conducive to me praying my Office (and not tasting road salt ingrained in the carpet … penance time!), this is the next best thing a woman can do.

I am doing it because I am sick to death of trads being treated in some places like “second class” Catholics.  Like we’re freaks of nature because we love Latin, TLMs, and all the lovely things that were a part of the life of the Church for OVER A MILLENIUM before some people with an agenda hijacked Vatican II (“spirit of Vatican II” crowd) and threw all that out the window while allowing the “smoke of Satan into the sanctuary” in the form of horrendous liturgical abuse, heterodoxy (aka heresy) up the wazoo, and the general dilution of Catholic identity.

It’s gotten to the point that the “Catholic vote” went to the most anti-life and anti-Catholic presidential candidate ever … twice … in a row. *facepalm* *headdesk* *souldesk*

Tell me how my wanting to veil in church is a bigger issue that than huge chunk of “WTH?!” (BTW, filter is off)

I am sick to death of trads being poo-poo’d because they love traddy things.  Because they believe in the whole idea that the Church didn’t begin in 1965 or 1970.  That the musical patrimony of the Church’s best picks are NOT Haugen-Daaz and their ilk.  That we don’t see the Roman Missal as a book of suggestions.  That we like our smells, bells, our Latin and our lace!

I am sick to death of some making a big deal of a piece of lace.  When I wore it the first time, you would have thought I wore a sandwich board that said, “I am pro-infanticide!” or “Ordain womyn or stop dressing like them!” in church.  I got the riot act read to me.  I was treated like a child by some.  I was scoffed.  I was taunted.  I was patronized.

Not anymore.

I am wearing my veil.

To Purgatory with them all.  I feel called to it.  I have felt called to it.  I am sick of feeling like a hypocrite!

They feel they can justify voting for a pro-Culture of Death and anti-Catholic yutz like Obama and still somehow, in their warped “Theology” and convuluted logic (it ain’t logic), be able to call themselves Catholics in good standing (you bet your scapular I am judging right now … this is a load!)?  They can justify it with their whole schtick about “social justice” (since when is the fundamental right to life NOT the cornerstone of Catholic social teaching? … that’s what I thought.) and “primacy of conscience” (what good is a conscience if it isn’t formed and rooted in natural law and Truth?!?!?!) malarcky.

Well guess what?  Since they are going to use the whole “primacy of conscience” schtick, Imma use it here.  See how they react.  My conscience tells me that if I were not to veil at my home parish, I would be a hypocrite.  Why?  Because I would be a hypocrite.  A hypocrite says or does one thing and then does the opposite.

I veil every where else.  I veil in any other church.  I veil whenever I am in the Presence of the Blessed Sacrament anywhere else.  What makes my home parish an exception?

NOTHING OF CONSEQUENCE.

OBJECTIVELY.

And you know what?

I am doing this for the young women who, like how I was, are traddy but are afraid (and I am not being hyperbolic sadly) to veil at their parishes because of the parish busybodies and others who have nothing better to do but put down young women and their desire to be like Our Lady.  For all the young women who didn’t live during the time when it was mandated but still want to do it but are afraid.

veiling ladies

Maybe my veiling will be the impetus that encourages/emboldens another young woman to do that which she has always wanted to do but has been afraid to do it because of reactions of others.

It is a sad sad sad state of affairs when you have young women who are afraid to wear what amounts to a piece of cloth on their head (never mind the whole “tradition” thing … that’s a dirty word to some) in a Catholic church!

And yet little to nothing concrete is done about:

-the fact that there are countless sacrilegious Communions taking place by baptized Catholics who are contracepting, have had abortions and not sought the forgiveness of the Lord, live and act in grave manifest scandal, who are bold-faced heretics, the list goes on and on. (BTW, I do not claim to be perfect … I am just calling it as I see it)

-the fact that so many of our children and adults have NO foundation in the Truth of the Church as given to her by Christ Who can neither deceive nor be deceived.  We have GENERATIONS of Catholics whose religious formation was composed of sappy milquetoast malarcky about feelings and emotions with absolutely NO (or very little) actual doctrinal formation.  Tell me how the Baltimore Catechism is bad again?

-the fact that the Holy Mass has been turned into a navel-gazing extravaganza at some parishes with cray-cray amounts of laity galavanting around the sanctuary (more than is necessary, that is) and with some clergy (pray for our priests!) who preach nothing but feel-good homilies with no doctrine.  Who  “will not call a spade a spade” because it’s not “pastoral” or because “the Church doesn’t teach that anymore” or “that teaching is oppressive and backwards!”  Or, even worse, priests who preach on and promote things that are directly contrary to the Church’s teachings (it happens sadly).

-Ummm, need I mention the whole “Catholic vote went to Obama twice in a row” thing again?  That alone should be reason enough for righteous anger and a most definite impetus for change … the right kind of change.

*takes a deep breath*

*exhale*

I needed that.

I really needed that.

Crucified Christ

Soooo … tell Him again why my wearing a veil is a big issue?
That’s what He thought. (Not assuming to know the mind of God, btw)

So yes, I am going to start veiling at my home parish once again.  If anyone says anything negative, Imma tell them to take it up with my Boss and then show them the crucifix around my neck.  Or they can talk to my Mother and then I will show them the Miraculous Medal or the Our Lady of Czestochowa medal around my neck.

Our Lady of Czestochowa

The last person who tried to mess with her ended up dying of a massive heart attack on the spot.
Just sayin’.

This is between me and God.  Not me and the parish busybody.  Not me and the old bitty who has nothing better to do with her day.  Not me and the person with an agenda.  Not me and the person who has a distaste/loathing for trads.  Me and God.  I report to Him at the end of the day and at the end of my life.  No one else.

And for those who think that women today don’t really want to veil that much.  Ha.  You’re fooling yourself.

From Father Z’s blog:
-“I want to share why I chose to wear a veil … and why I love it.”
-“To Veil or Not to Veil”

From Catholic Sistas:
-“A Call to Veil: The Mysterious Unfolds”
-“Lifting the Veil”

You think my reticence is something unique to me?!  Ha!  I wish.  I wish more women veiled proudly.

-“Are you shy about wearing a chapel veil?”
-“Would you veil if more women did?”

Are you thinking about it or are you curious about the whole story behind veiling?

Ignitum Today’s article: “A few reasons to wear the veil at Mass”
Fisheaters article on Veiling
Cardinal Burke on women wearing headcoverings in church via Father Z

Father Z on how to deal with the parish busybody who scoffs at veiling.

Have I piqued your interest with my rant?!

Want to jump on the traddy train and browse for veils?!?!

SQUEEEEEEEE!!!!

Oh, my dear sister, you will love it!  And it is soooooooo much fun to veil shop!!!!

My recommendations for places to look online:

Veils by Lily: She is a “full-time mother of four with a special love for veiling in the presence of the Blessed Sacrament.”  Every veil is made to order.  Support a Catholic family and get a pretty veil.  Totally a great exchange!

Aquinas and More Mantilla Section: This is from where I got mine.  They get their veils from small suppliers.  Mine was from Saint Francis Veils (they only do wholesale now … Aquinas and More is one of their sellers).  They are a small business out of Colorado and I have had nothing but GREAT experiences with their sales and service.

Imma be honest right now (like I haven’t been honest before in this post … haha): I am nervous.  I am nervous because of the crap I dealt with.  But I talked about it with a dear dear friend and two priests whose advice I value very highly (one of whom is my spiritual director).  They all said the same thing: If you feel called, then do it.  Don’t worry about what others say.  It’s between you and God.  And that’s true.

And, if the only good that comes of my veiling again at my home parish is that it causes a woman who was on the edge about it to go for it too, all the better.  But that’s not really why I am doing it.

In my heart of hearts, the very pit of my soul, I have felt called to veil for years.  I did it in college.  I stopped for a time.  Once I started assisting at TLM pretty frequently, I decided to pick it up once again.

This isn’t about showing off or being a sanctimonious prig.  This is me submitting myself to God.  I am head over heels in love with Christ, people.  When I was in DC, I got a silver crucifix ring that I wear every day on my left ring finger.  Even if the whole “consecrated virgin” thing doesn’t go through in the AOD (though I pray that it does every day), I want to belong to Christ and His Church exclusively.

It’s a sacrifice but I need to just put out into the deep and go for it.  I can’t keep sitting on the fence fearing making the wrong choice.  The ring is a reminder of to Whom my heart  and my life should and will always belong: Christ.  No one else.  With Him, I need and want nothing else.  He doesn’t abandon those He loves to chance.  He provides for all who put their trust in Him.  And I, in my imperfect way, am trying to love Him as He deserves.  I, in my fallen-ness, am trying to trust Him completely and without faltering.

I just noticed that tomorrow is the Feast of Our Lady of Lourdes.  That reminds me, I have a vial of Lourdes water that needs blessing.  Get that done tomorrow post-Missam.

Our Lady of Lourdes

One day, I am going to Lourdes. God will provide.

I don’t think that it’s a coincidence that the first day I am going to veil at my home parish is a Marian feast day.  Our Lady will take care of me.  She always does.

All right.  I have to go to bed.  I am getting sleepy.  I had to get that off my chest.   Nighty night!

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who will be pursuing her MA in Theology at Sacred Heart Major Seminary and who holds a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Church Lady Stuff, Contemplations, Liturgy and Prayer, Our Lady, Prayer, Rant with a purpose, Spiritual motherhood, Trad Catholicism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Something has to change …

  1. Before switching to a church with the TLM I was the lone veil wearer as well, although people didn’t say anything to me about it. I wish someone would have as asked why/what the purpose was so that maybe other women could learn about it and think about wearing one too. The lack of commentary is almost as unsettling. Be courageous. I am with you on this… I know exactly how you feel.

    • Ms. Allie says:

      Thank you! People need to realize that young people can and do love traditional things. Not out of some idealized visage of a time during which we never lived but out of a love for the traditional things that are a part of the tradition of Holy Church.

      Trads cannot continue to be relegated to the quiet dark corners of Holy Church by those with an agenda. Let the trads be the trads. We’re not raving heretics. We’re defenders of Holy Church! We love the Blessed Sacrament and we love Our Lady!

      Get over yourselves, the Church didn’t start in 1965! It started from the pierced Heart of Christ on the Cross and in the Upper Room on Pentecost!

What do you think?

