Pax et Bonum!

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

May the peace of Christ, the maternal love of Our Lady, and the prayer and protection of the angels and saints be with all of you, my dear friends (both new and old). Some of you reading this are here because it popped up on my Facebook page. Others because you may have done a search for something and for some reason my humble blog came up and you clicked to investigate. Some of you reading have known me since I was a little kid at my parish grade school. Others have known me from my time at the local all-girls Catholic high school. And then there are my faithful college buddies with whom I had the privilege of sharing four wonderful but fast years. And yet still, there are others who are here who have never met me before either in reality or in this alternate reality known as “teh Internetz.”

Before I begin, I would like to explain something about the “little” acronyms I have at the beginning of each post of this blog.

“A.M.D.G.” = “Ad Maiorem Dei Gloriam” = “For the Greater Glory of God” It’s the Jesuit motto that many have rightfully picked up as a personal acronym. The purpose of me writing this everywhere is to remind myself and all of you that every thing we say, think and do is to be for the greater glory of God.

“J.M.J.” = “Jesus, Mary, and Joseph” Archbishop Fulton J. Sheen (if you have never heard of him, his talks, books, and such are AMAZING (and solid)) used to write that on the top of his blackboard when he had his show “Life is Worth Living.” It is to remind us that we are to follow the example of the Holy Family in doing even the smallest things with a great love for God and one another.

“A.T.C.” = “All Things Christ” This is the motto of my dear spiritual director of six amazing years. Odds are, you will hear about him in proceeding posts since he plays a huge role in my discernment and in my other dealings in life. He’s really one of my closest friends. He says that if all of us did everything with Christ in mind and in our hearts there would be no sin since we would be too in love with Christ to ever want to hurt Him in even the smallest way. Of course, man is fallen so he is prone to falling into sin (not predestined like some Protestants would have you believe) but it is in the getting up, repenting (by going to sacramental Confession, of course), and amending one’s life that he moves closer to that great “thing” that is unity with God.

Some of you are probably also wondering why my name is “sisterallie35.” Well, “Sister Allie” has been my nickname of sorts since I was in high school. Heck, even when I was dating I still had friends up at college who would call me that. The “35?” Well, that was my Powderpuff football number. There is also symbolism behind it. You have the three Persons of the Trinity and the Five Wounds of Christ. And when you add three and five you get eight which is the number of Beatitudes. So in that number, we encounter the Godhead in His Divine Majesty, God emptying Himself and becoming the Innocent Victim for sinful man, and the teaching of the Word Incarnate that is meant to lead all to greater love of Him and others. Pretty good for a 17 year old girl going to a barely Catholic high school (they pretty much promulgated birth control and heterodoxy and their liturgical practices were sub-par to be charitable). Let’s just say I read Ratzinger during religion class to keep myself from going insane.

Now for a brief autobio: I graduated from college this past May with a bachelors in Theology and I am a charter member of my college’s chapter of Theta Alpha Kappa (The National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society). Have been discerning my call in life for many years. This has led me to many different things/orders. Heck, I even dated a guy once (for almost 2 years) but we broke up about two years ago. My nunly discernment led me from the Felicians, to the Dominican Sisters of Mary, Mother of the Eucharist, to the IHMs, to the Adrian Dominicans, back to the DSMME, and finally (and happily) back to the Felicians. Now, each of those orders have their own unique charism and such and I must admit, I looked into some more than others for various reasons including theology, ways of living the vows, apostolates, and viewpoints on the habit (not whether they wore them or not but their philosophy for or against it). Trust me, I plan on writing much about those kinds of things.

Now, I am very gratefully and happily working at my parish as a pastoral assistant/Church girl who does anything from cleaning offices and chapels, to “selling” Masses, to MCing Masses and ceremonies, to training new servers, to doing canonical and theological research for my pastor. I love my job and I consider myself incredibly blessed to have such wonderful opportunities to grow.

Well, now that I have gotten all of this out of the way, please do come back and see what I put up here. It promises to be quite varied from theological rants/tangents/analyses to tech stuff to me venting about things that are getting to me to the “occasional” contemplation of things on my mind, especially pertaining to religious life and its role in the world today on things from habits and religious names to why the theology of an order is so vital for me in seeing where the order is going and whether or not I want to be a part of it.

I think I have written enough for now, please feel free to comment away just use your better judgment when posting them. No trolling or Church bashing. If I hear one skerrick of anti-Catholicism, consider yourself excommunicated from the blog.

Have a blessed evening!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Introduction, Teh Nun. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pax et Bonum!

  1. Rohan says:

    I think I will enjoy reading this Allie 😀

  2. katorikurant says:

    ALLIE! You made an awesome choice for your blog. I love the decor! Also, the layout is nice…I’m thinking of changing mine to something a little less cluttered (and hopefully more professional.)

    Check out Conversion Diary sometime- I’m hooked on that blog.

    • Thank you! The background is from the stained glass at the Cathedral in Detroit, the title bar is a fresco by Fra Angelico, and my profile picture is Audrey Hepburn from “The Nun’s Story.”

      I follow “Conversion Diary” on my feed reader. 🙂 It is very good.

What do you think?

