Has it really been a month? and a rant …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

I can’t believe it has been a month since I last posted on this blog. Actually, I probably would not have realized it had it not been for a friend of mine reminding me on my Facebook. Well, at least I know I have like two or three readers! *WIN*

Right now, I am sitting in my family room, watching “The Snake Pit” starring Olivia de Havilland, one of my favorite actresses. Besides being a portrayal of mental health treatment in the post-war years, it tells the story of a woman who finds herself in a mental hospital and yet does not know how she got there. I tend to like older films because they did not have all the CGI and other modern technological advances that allow for development in art of film making. de Havilland is also one of my favorite actresses so when I saw her listed under this movie on the TCM website, I decided to watch it. So far, it’s a very good movie.

One of the reasons why I love classic movies so much is because it portrays a time long past before political correctness wrecked havoc on the culture and minds of people. When women were confident and classy not cocky and whorish (or as the femynysts like to say “liberated”). Many people say I was born in the wrong time because I like these kinds of movies and because I love many of the things associated with that era.

You can see it in the films of the time. Sure, women were pretty limited in their career paths and I am grateful that those avenues have opened up, but at what cost? In many of the movies of the era, women were strong and confident. They were also ladies. I am sorry but I place class and lady-like values in a very important category. And being a “lady” has nothing to do with being “oppressed” or “backwards.” It has everything to do with being sure of oneself. Being strong in moral, intellectual, and social convictions and values. There was a clear delineation of right and wrong. It was not the subjective and relativistic mess in which we find ourselves today. It’s amazing how things can change in roughly two generations time.

That and some of the dresses of the time were very beautiful. Actually, many aspects of the fashion and such of that time were very interesting and charming.

But I digress.

A “quick” update on how things are with me. I have been working quite a bit at Saint Joan and I am very happy and grateful for it. I went to a Sacred Music Concert in Livonia hosted by my favorite Polish sisters. They invited me to their Christmas party in the middle of this month (so pleased). And, the Vocation Director for the Sisters is coming to Livonia from Chicago to talk with me … hopefully about entering in the near future. God willing, of course. Prayers would be much appreciated.

Over the past few weeks, I have been assisting at quite a few funerals at Saint Joan. Whenever I am at one of these events, I always “marvel” at how horribly irreverent people can be about things they either do not believe or do not want to respect.

Whether I am a Eucharistic minister or just kneeling in the pew, I can’t help but notice how some people approach to receive Communion. Mind you, before Communion is given to the people, Monsignor or the priest present always makes a spiel telling who can receive Communion and who cannot. It’s not that hard. If you are Catholic and in the state of grace, come on up. If you are not in the state of grace or are not in a Church in union with the Church of Rome, you can come up but you will receive a blessing.

However, no matter how “idiot-proof” the explanation is, people still schlep up and either receive Communion like it was any old flat and flavorless cracker or *MUCH WORSE* taking the Host and HIDING IT IN THEIR HAND. That annoys me like nothing else. It actually makes me more mad than anything else. It makes me madder than feminism, progressive movements in the Church, and dissidents in the Church. Yeah, THAT mad.

Of course, those models of perfect piety who try to slip away with the Host in their hand do not expect some girl to walk up to them, look them square in the eye, and tell them to either consume the Host or give Him to me. I am polite. But I am also direct because This is not just some symbol about Which we are talking. This is the Real Presence of Christ. Most times, the persons just give me the Host and that is it. I have had some situations where the persons put up a fight of sorts. They look at me like a deer in headlights or they give me a cold look. Pah. Like I care what you think? You’re the one holding the Bread of the Angels in your hand like a common cracker. Not me.

Heck, when I have been giving out the Precious Blood, I have had people come up to me, still holding their Host and trying intinct (dunk) the Host into the cup. While I understand that Orthodox and Eastern Rites have the custom of intinction in their Communion Rites, any regular Orthodox or Eastern Rite person would know that the Latin Rite does not allow for that on the part of the people. That is, the Roman Church sees intinction as a form of self-communication. Self-communication is only allowed on the part of clerics because it is a merit of their very ordination as priests.

I remember one time, I was giving out the Precious Blood and I got another one of those people who hijacked Jesus and was now attempting to intinct the Host. I covered the cup with my purificator and told the person to either consume the Host or give Him to me. The person only stared at me coldly and was persistent in their drive to intinct the Host. When the person realized that I was not going to let up, he proceeded to quietly yell at me but he sure as heck did not do it subtly because I remember Monsignor looking out of the corner of his eye. lol Needless to say, he eventually had to intervene. The person keep going on about how I was not letting them do what they wanted and how it was not my place to refuse his will.

Pah. Monsignor charitably shot him down and begrudgingly rendered the Host unto me and I consumed it immediately. The person stomped back to his pew and just sat staring at me.

Not the first and definitely not the last time that will happen.

In the end, it’s a matter of respect. I would not go to a Protestant faith community and approach to receive their version of communion. Why? Because I am not in communion with what they teach about that aspect of their doctrine and some other things as well doctrinally.

Therefore, why the heck should their be an exception made for the reception of Communion in the Catholic Church? That’s right. There should not be nor is there. And it’s not a matter of exclusivity in the negative sense but inclusivity in the true sense. We are not excluding people because they are inferior. We are including people because we share more than many things in common. We share common key beliefs such as the Real Presence.

Sometimes when I witness blatant irreverence shown toward the Blessed Sacrament, I will make a semi-sarcastic remark to Monsignor about lifting the indult, yes it’s an indult, in America that allows the faithful to receive Communion in the hand. Yes, receiving Communion in the hand is an extraordinary exception to the rule. The ordinary way of receiving Communion is on the tongue. And, being an indult, it can be abrogated at any time the Church believes that it has ceased to serve a positive purpose or when it has inadvertently led to different detrimental things in the Church.

Personally, I receive on the tongue. And for me, it’s a matter of reverence and practicality. Sometimes, the Hosts at Saint Joan can get kinda flaky and I don’t really like the idea of Christ crumbs being trampled underfoot or swept off the hands like common crumbs. It was always amusing to see the puzzled looks on the faces of the Catholicky elitists who tended to distribute Communion at the campus chapel (if one could call a former stable wreckovated a la 1970s post-modern nihilistic Catholyc sensibilities that) when I would close my eyes and stick my tongue out clearly indicating that I wished to receive Communion on the tongue. One time, I was actually told to receive on the hand, which I respectfully ignored and persisted in my insistence that I could receive on the tongue. She eventually gave in begrudgingly.

As you can see, I am stubborn. Very stubborn. I am pretty well aware of my rights and duties as a Catholic, when some other person who claims to know better tries to deny me of my rights as a practicing Catholic. Not Catholyc.

As a side note to clarify for those who are not familiar with the Catholic environment at my alma mater or for those who are totally unknowing of the situation, the “Catholicky elitists” were those students who were the oh-so-enlightened Catholic students who may or may not be Theology majors but they had been feed a consistent diet of saccharine “Catholicism” that while being for the most part orthodox were blinded in many respects by the thick layer of sugar covering their pupils and/or convinced that their time spent in youth group has taught them EVERYTHING they need to know and anyone erring from their most holy and exalted way are wrong and/or lidless eyed traditionalists.

I must admit that there are times when my sarcastic ranting or bantering is how I really feel. I am sick to death of the irreverence and the gross disrespect shown to the Blessed Sacrament.

If you wish, I would LOVE to hear your thoughts on this issue of Communion in the hand. Heck, let’s even talk about Catholic elitists. AQ friends, please do tell of your stories and impressions. lol

I would write more but the Wings will be on soon and my man Ozzy is going to be manning the goal and therefore I must support mah guy! That and “The Snake Pit” is over and now it’s a movie about Nazi spies.

I think I solved the reason for why the Nazis were so crazy angry all the time. Can you imagine the pit smell of thousands of sweaty Nazis as they shot out their right arms doing the whole “Seig Heil” thing? The smell must have been so horrendous and traumatic that it put people into a perpetual bad mood. The whole atrocities thing was totally the working of the Devil and the darkness of the human being’s capacity for evil.

Good night, y’all. GO WINGS! Happy Second Sunday of Advent!

Dio ti benedica e Maria ti protegge per sempre!
-Allie

PS
I shall be resuming my “Friday Penance” posts. I am sorry that I have been so lax about it. Consider it a penance. *corny lol*

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Musings, Random Fun-ness, Rant with a purpose. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Has it really been a month? and a rant …

  1. katorikurant says:

    You managed to say in a less ranty version what I’ve been thinking about lately. Lol, as always.

    I’ve noticed a change in attitude in myself since I started receiving on the tongue, rather than in the hand. What I’ve noticed is that I’ve become less “independent” minded- thinking I know what I’m doing, that I *deserve* this somehow, that if it falls on the floor *I* need to fix it and not the priest….Now, maybe because the symbolism is so obvious, I’m thinking more about how I am *lucky* to be able to receive communion. I’ve moved from “taking Communion” to “receiving Communion”.

    One thing I really wish that could happen more is that there would be more Priests and Deacons and less EMHC’s. I say this because when Mr. Serrano and I go up, he often has to receive a blessing because he’s not had his First Communion yet. Lately, he hasn’t been doing that, because the EMHC either doesn’t know what is going on, or doesn’t have the capacity to do a blessing. I think its the second one, since this is at Saint Izzy’s.

    Even so, when he receives a confused glare, it embarrasses the crap out of him.

    I learned at AQ that if I were going to Mass in the chapel, if I wanted to receive on the tongue I’d just get into the line with the priest. Sure, Father Whatsit might be initially confused especially after having a homily detailing social justice, gays, kittens, women in the Church, bunnies, and how pro-life isn’t necessarily against abortion, but after a pause he comes to his senses.

    Would it make you happy to know that of the people who go to the chapel at AQ, there are 25% and rising who kneel during consecration, kneelers or no? I remember being discouraged from it, but a lot of people seem to be ignoring that.

    Muahahahahah you have got to see this campus. People are getting blatantly sick of being forced to hide their Catholic identity.

What do you think?

