I need a blogroll

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

I am being such an overachiever right now. Probably because I am putzing on Aloysius. He just finished a backup (last time there was a bit of a hiccup but now that’s all better, THANK GOD) and system image (I love Windows 7!). Now, I am listening to WJR (Detroit news-radio) and more specifically Rush Limbaugh (with whom I tend to agree). Don’t hate me for it. I have been conservative bashed enough. I believe readers remember one of my more negative experiences with that whole schtick.

But anyway, I noted on a friend of mine’s , I need a better blog roll. Yeah. Mine is kinda light. So, I shall amend that now!

I follow 329 blogs using Google Reader. No, I do not read them all, all the time. I have a few that I always read so I shall share those with you to enjoy and follow yourselves. 🙂

A Nun’s Life is a well-known blog written by a couple IHM sisters of our Monroe, Michigan. I also subscribe to their podcast. While I may not agree with some aspects of their view of theology (there is only one theology … truth), I still think they have good content and their intentions are good and the Lord knows that they are doing good in making the idea of having a religious vocation in the modern world feasible. It is not just something relegated to the old days of cloister, convents, and cracking rulers. Not that there is anything wrong with the first two. The discussions that occur on the blog and in the podcasts can be interesting in that one encounters different points of view. I can forgive the use of inclusive language. It suits them. It’s not my cup of tea, nor should it become the norm. But that’s just my meager opinion.

Acts of Apostasy is one of my favorite blogs. All I need to say is what they have in their title: “Orthodox commentary on heterodox hooligans. Serious. Satirical. Humorous. Faithful.” I enjoy it thoroughly. 🙂

Bad Vestments appeals to my tendency to inflict unnecessary penances on myself. The vestments showcased on this site are truly awful. I also visit it just for a good laugh at what is considered appropriate for liturgical vesture. Keep in mind that these (thank God) are not exclusively Catholic clerics. You will see Protestant women ministers or Roman Catholic “womynprysts” dressed in shower curtains. All I ask besides for their conversion is that if they are going to “play priest” that they at least follow the rules on liturgical colors. Of course, when you latae sententiae excommunicate yourself, you are kinda free to do what you want. lol

Catholic Cartoon blog features cartoons of a Catholicky nature related to things going on in the Church and in the world as they relate to the Church.

Catholic Vote is a politics and culture blog that is written by many contributors, one of who include Thomas Peters of “American Papist” fame. This is one of my “must follow” blogs.

Cheeky Pink Girl is another one of my favorite blogs. She is one of those bloggers who just speaks her mind and typically does not have her filter on so you won’t hear any politically-correct codswallop here.

Father Acervo’s Corner is a blog written by our new associate at SJA. He has already hit 30k views, so he must be doing something right! 🙂

Felician Franciscan News is one of the sites run by my sisters, so of course it’s great. Objectively so. 🙂 It is a good way to get a glimpse into some of what it is to be a Felician.

Father Z’s Blog is the blog written by Father John Zuhlsdorf. He presents excellent content and commentary. His sense of humor makes me smile and his analysis of liturgical translations makes the liturgy geek in me happy. One of my “must reads.”

Francsican Footprints follows the life of the Sisters of the Third Order of St. Francis of Peoria, Illinois. This is the order one of my college friends entered. She is soon to be a novice. It is a beautiful congregation and from their blog, they love the Church and their holy founders Francis and Clare and their teachings.

Grace-Filled Days follows the life of a Felician novice in formation in our novitiate in Enfield, Connecticut and her experiences as she furthers her formation with the Felician Franciscan Sisters.

Habitually Speaking follows an AQ alumna who entered the Franciscan Sisters of Christian Charity. She is currently a novice and she talks about her life as a sister in that congregation.

Image and Likeness is the blog written by the Poor Clares of Perpetual Adoration (Mother Angelica’s nuns) and it documents their lives as cloistered contemplative Franciscan nuns. By the looks of their site, they seem to do be doing well with vocations and rightly so! A very beautiful order! 🙂

In the Light of the Law is a, you guessed it, Canon Law blog. Besides, Canon Law is one of my great loves. And it’s written by Dr. Edward Peters, who teaches at Sacred Heart Major Seminary in Detroit. He is also a Referandarius of the Apostolic Signatura. Translation: he is consultant to the highest administrative tribunal in the Church. Very cool.

Moniales OP follows the life of cloistered contemplative Dominican nuns in New Jersey. Please do visit their store and support the sisters by buying their wonderful products! It is an interesting glimpse into the life of Dominican nuns. They too have seen young vocations! Yay!

Overheard in the Sacristy is written by a priest of the Diocese of Phoenix, Arizona. He talks about happenings in the Church and in the world.

Servant and Steward is the blog of a priest of the Diocese of Springfield, Illinois. I enjoy reading his post and his commentary on events and things pertaining to the Church and culture. He is an Episcopal (as in “bishop” not “Episcopalian”) Master of Ceremonies (yeah!) and Associate Director of Vocations for his diocese.

Te Deum Laudamus! is a blog by a parishioner at Assumption Grotto Parish in Detroit. She takes excellent pictures of different events happening at Grotto (a beautiful traditional parish in the Archdiocese) and around the AoD. Her posts are on all things Church and how the Church views the culture. This is another “must-read.”

The Anchoress is written by Elizabeth Scalia, who writes for “First Things” magazine. I thoroughly enjoy reading her blog. A “must-read.”

The Crescat is an excellent blog whose writer has a great sense of humor and her posts on Catholicism are very well-written. I can’t really think of anything bad to say about this blog. I must read every article she posts and I recommend it to you all. And she has a picture of a Felician sister at the top portion of her sidebar. Can’t go wrong there.

The Deacon’s Bench is on my and the good Monsignor’s must-read list. This is yet another well-written blog where the writer talks about the Faith in modern culture. Definite must-read.

The New Liturgical Movement is a blog written by a group of writers that relates to all things liturgical from architecture to art and music and the different rites of the Mass (Ambrosian, Dominican, etc.). A must-read for all those who love liturgiology.

Whispers in the Loggia is a blog that MUST be on every Catholicky geek’s reading list. Rocco Palmo writes about the inner workings of the Church, ecclesiastical appointments, and interesting Church news. If you want to be “in the know,” read this blog regularly.

Well, that is a smattering of my blog picks! I shall hopefully be putting those all into some sidebar menus soon. If you have any suggestions for additions to my blog rolls, please post them. If they meet my requirements: orthodox, well-written, and updated frequently, then it will probably be included.

All right. These should amuse you for now. lol

Have a great day!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Random Fun-ness. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

