Calling all Catholicky geeks!!!

J.M.J.
A.M.D.G.
A.T.C.

I got my welcome letter from the postulant director today while I was working at SJA (so much for being off … lol) and it filled me with joy. Yesterday, my paranoia was alleviated and I was told I passed my psych exams (anyone applying for formation in the seminary or a religious order/congregation must go through a series of tests before acceptance). AMEN! I am going to a vocation conference with a sister this weekend and then the next weekend, the same sister and I are making the epic road trip to Chicago for a first profession! I am also going to meet with the vocation director, psychiatrist, and formation director for the provincial council to talk about my test results and what they will mean for me as I begin formation with the Felicians.

Anywho, part of my welcome letter included a list of things to bring, you know, basics for living and such. One of the things on the list are books. A priest friend of mine was going to see if he could find me some of the books I needed for formation. Alas, the only specific books listed are a Bible (I will bring an NAB and an RSV-CE … always good to have a couple translations … I might bring my comparison book from my Scripture classes at AQ). I am packing my 4 volume Divine Office because I love the Office of Readings and Compline. Etc., etc.. Well, said priest-buddy said that since there were no specified texts, if there were any books I think I would like to have/would need, to let him know and he will find them for me.

That is where you all come in, this is especially geared toward my Catholic geeks because besides books, he said he would find me some Catholicky software I would like. I need ideas. I am not used to having a list of things I want and I don’t want to be a mooch. I am very grateful that he is doing this for me.

So, if you were a soon-to-be postulant/Catholic nerd, what would you bring with you? I already have:

-Franciscan Office (I receive that when I enter … ’tis a beautiful prayerbook … like my Felician prayerbook)
-Catechism of the Catholic Church (it has that part with modifications from the editio typica)
-Revised Standard Version-Catholic Edition Bible
-New American Bible
-Daily Roman Missal (though I will need a new one when the new translation comes out)
-Code of Canon Law (Monsignor said he would get that for me … he is a canon lawyer … he’s got connections … lol)
-Commentary on the Code of Canon Law (Monsignor said he may as well get me one of those … lol)
-“Phenomenology of the Human Person” by Father Robert Sokolowski … Archbishop Vigneron helped write it when he was studying under Sokolowski

I really like saints’ lives but I never know which one to get. I don’t really want a book that gives short little descriptions of the saint. I like “meat and potatoes” saints’ lives.

I am always willing to read more about liturgy and sacraments.

And I looooove Church history.

Well, have at it, please do post your recommendations. I need to have a list of ideas of books, software, and e-books to him soon.

Thanks a lot!

Happy Feast of the Dedication of the Basilica of Santa Maria Maggiore!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Nunly Things, Random Fun-ness, SJA, Teh Nun. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Calling all Catholicky geeks!!!

  1. Lisa says:

    Congratulations, Allie! This is wonderful news and ongoing confirmation that you are folowing God’s way. It’s great that you are creating a formation reading wish list. I am sure that you will get many good suggestions, and I am sure that there are many textual treasures awaiting you throughout the years of formation ahead. One thing that can be exceptionally helpful for your spiritual journey are actually blank journalling books. Even if you don’t currently journal, you may find at various points in the future you will find it beneficial.

    A special gift I was given was Thomas A Kempis “The Imitation of Christ.” Another text I think all in formation will find beneficial, but I think you want to process it with someone “expert” in the field is JP’s Theology of the Body and Love and Responsibility. Again, I would not venture into those alone but you may want to have them in your treasure chest for the appropriate moment and opportunity.

    Enjoy every moment of this journey, wherever it takes you. And enjoy the moments leading up to your “official” start of postulancy. The Felicians are Blessed. You will be too!

  2. Ms. Allie says:

    Thank you for your kind comment and your wonderful words. I have a wonderful translation of “The Imitation of Christ” by Monsignor Ronald Knox that I got at a used book store in northern Michigan.

    When I entered candidacy in March, the sisters gave me a beautiful journal. I plan on using that once I enter.

    I may look into the “Theology of the Body,” I have heard much good about it. 🙂

  3. Catt says:

    Of course as the token Lutheran I do not have these lovely things but I have a friend that works at family christian stores and they have a decent Catholic section (esp book-wise) and they have really good prices. If you sign up for their e-mails you might be able to get 30% off a bible or something? Good LUCK! I’m stalking and rooting for you!!! I really hope you can keep this up while your in the order!

What do you think?

