A Day in the Life …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

I totally forgot that someone had made a special request for a post in the suggestion box. See! I do check it! Put your post suggestions in there and I will be consider it as a possible post topic.

Well, Catt, here is your post suggestion:

On Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, and Friday, I wake up at about 5:15 or 5:30 to be ready at 6:40 to head over to the Passionist Monastery for 7:00 Mass.

After Mass, we say Morning Prayer/Lauds and then have breakfast.

On Thursdays, we get to sleep in a bit and we meet in the chapel at about 8:00am for Morning Prayer. Mass on Thursdays is across the street at Saint Adalbert’s at ten o’clock. Mass is literally 15 minutes. Not the most prayerful but it’s valid and licit. Not to mention that the church itself is gorgeous so the aesthetics of the church in their own way add to the prayerfulness.

After breakfast, I usually have a couple hours worth of classes on things like prayer, community life, and introductions to different aspects of Felician life and charism.

Then at some point of the day, we/some of us prepare for the main meal of the day, which can be dinner (lunch) or supper, depending on our schedule. Most days, we meet in the chapel at five o’clock for evening prayer and on Friday, the leader for the week reads from the Felician Memoirs, which is a collection of writings from the early days of the congregation.

Monday is our busiest day. After class and some free time, we head out to Mooncrest at 2:15 so we can be there before the kids get out of school. The Mooncrest After-School Program is run by two of my sisters. I wrote about it in a previous article from probably about June. I typically help kids with their homework. Last week, I was sent upstairs to the older kids (about 6th grade and up I think). That was a fun experience. a fun experience indeed. lol

After Mooncrest, we head home, pray Evening Prayer in the car, eat a quick supper to sustain us and then head out to the parish center for Bible Study on the synoptic Gospels (Matthew, Mark, and Luke). Most of it is a review of my freshman Scripture class but it is a good refresher and it’s nice to hear someone (a priest no less) who obviously loves and understands as best he can, the material he is covering. I must admit, it can be hard to keep my eyes open toward the end because of it having been a crazy busy day. And … there is usually cans of Faygo soda. If you are not from Detroit or southeast Michigan, you probably have no idea. It’s a Detroit-based soda company.

Tuesdays are much lighter. The morning goes as usual. I have two class periods and then time to myself. The only major thing outside of the convent that I have to do is a Young Adult Bible Study in the evening, which is on the Gospels for the upcoming Sunday. One of our contacts (a young woman looking into Felician life) also attends so it’s nice to spend time with her.

Wednesdays have two main events outside of the usual schedule of Mass, prayer, and class. In the morning, we go over to the Passionist Monastery for a class on Saint Teresa of Avila’s “The Interior Castle.” Yeah, we spend a lot of time at the Passionist monastery. Who would not? They are very nice men and solid priests. 🙂

Then, in the afternoon, I head over to the parish center for an hour where I work the food bank passing out food to the clients that come in. That is one of my favorite things to do during the week. It also lets me do some putzing on my walk to the parish center so I can admire the different facades of the buildings. There is one by the building that has an episcopal coat of arms done in stonework over the door to what looks like a chapel. I am going to do some research into whose coat of arms that was. I really should have been a Theology and History double major. Meh, maybe the sisters will let me study Church history so I can teach or something. I lovez mah Detroit Church history!

Coming up soon in the evening this day, we head back to, you guessed it, the Passionist Monastery, for a class giving a Biblical walkthrough of the Mass. I am looking forward to that A LOT because I love liturgiology. Yes, that’s a word. My theology prof had to make sure it was a word when I wrote it in one of my papers for his class but he found it … in some really elevated theological text. lol

Thursdays bring, besides our sleeping in day, just a regular schedule of Mass, prayer, class, and meals. It’s our most “regular” schedule. lol But it’s a nice respite during the week. We have common recreation in the evening

Friday brings back the crack of dawn wake-up, morning prayer, breakfast, class, and sessions with the director about how I am doing. We also typically have common Adoration in the evening besides Vespers and reading from the Memoirs.

Saturday is our day of rest. All prayer is in private. Though we go to morning Mass together. We have always been busy on Saturdays so I have not gotten to see this church we go to yet. The sisters say it’s gorgeous and that I MUST bring my camera. Imma looking forward to this.

Friday and Saturdays are typically when we get our household duties done. I call them “charges” because I was born in the wrong time. lol

Sunday, we go across the street for Sunday Mass, which is supposedly forty minutes instead of fifteen minutes. We have Lauds before Mass at 8:30. Again, we have been so busy on weekends that I have yet to experience Sunday Mass at the church across the street.

So yeah, that’s how a week goes in my life nowadays. It’s busy but I love it. There are days when I have to yank myself out of bed but we all have those days.

When I go out on special trips, I shall be sure to share with all of you. My next big event is next Friday (Our Lady of the Rosary) when I and another woman am accepted into the congregation as postulants officially. The other woman has not moved in yet. She moves in the day before.

After Entrance day which includes evening prayer and supper with the provincial council, our next big event is a “Take Time Out for God” retreat at our college in Lodi, NJ. We stay at the central convent there. I have never been there before so I am looking forward to it. I don’t participate in the retreat persay but I am there more as a ministry of presence. I am also visiting the high school we have there.

Well, that should keep you all sated for a while. Besides, I have a load of laundry that needs folding.

Have a nice weekend everyone!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Musings, Nunly Things. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Day in the Life …

  1. Catt says:

    YEA!!! It sounds like your doing quite well!! I’m jealous of the classes!! Do you guys get mail or send some out? I’ll send you some exciting postcards if you give me your address!

What do you think?

