I’m Baaaaaaaaaaaack …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Okay, so I have not posted in a long time. That’ll be an extra fifteen metaphysical hours in Purgatory listening to Justin Beiber. Big deal. lol

Anywho, as you have hopefully inferred, I have been quite busy hence the lack of posts. You’d be right if you did. I have been meaning to post. Trust me. I have just been busy doing nunny stuff.

The first weekend I was in Pennsylvania, I was at our central convent (former provincial house) with the sisters with whom I live for a “Come and See.” What happens at a “Come and See?” The young women attending spend the weekend with the sisters, eating with them, praying with them, and learning different things about discernment in general and about the Felician congregation and charism in particular.

I thought it was a very nice weekend. I always look forward to visiting the sisters at the central convents. I got to go for a walk about the campus which is beautiful because the house is on a ravine and has meadows, walking paths, and a Via Crucis. One of the main paths leads to the cemetery where many sisters are buried. I always make a point to visit the sisters there.

Then, the next weekend, I was in Villa Maria, PA for an “Intercommunity Formation Gathering” at the motherhouse of the Sisters of the Humility of Mary. I met some awesome people and I made friends with two novices from the Franciscan TORs (Third Order Regular). We prayed our Office together, usually sat at the sessions together, and we ate together. Many wonderful conversations with them and others took place. A very good weekend indeed. I am looking forward to the next one in January. The only things that were not to my liking (and this is purely me) was the chapel and its overwhelming iconclasm (not a lick of imagery or statuary … very modern/post-modern) and the Sunday Mass had a few abuses that left me feeling a bit awkward.

My biggest mistake about the chapel was reading about how the chapel used to look and what they did to make it more faithful to the teachings “flowing out of the Spirit of Vatican II.” Obviously, this was all executed by persons who never read a lick of the actual documents. I have read many of them for the most part. No where does it justify doing what happened there. Pure iconoclasm and inorganic innovation.

Last weekend, my director was out of town for a meeting in Chicago (she is out again this weekend in Holly, MI for more meetings), so my local minister (think like “Mother Superior” if you want to use old school terminology) and I attended a Knights of Columbus Vocations Dinner at our Coraopolis central convent. We stayed the night and then we went to a talk on Saint Clare of Assisi and her love of poverty. A very nice talk. The next Franciscan talk is going to be facilitated by one of my sisters.

In between those very busy, I have been kept equally busy. And in the next post (I have to break this up), I will give you how an average week/day looks like for me.

I hope you have a great day!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Nunly Things, Teh Nun. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

