V: Deus in adiutorium meum intende …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

R: Domine ad adjuvandum me festina.

For all you non-Latin-speakers, I just said “O God, come to my assistance” and “O Lord, make haste to help me.” They are the opening verses when one begins an hour of the Divine Office.

These are the first words that meet my ears when I click the play button on iTunes to play the night’s recording of Compline from Vatican Radio so I can do my prayers before retiring.

There are few things that can make a day better than a well-chanted Latin Compline with Sub Tuum Praesidium as the Marian antiphon (or any Latin Marian antiphon).

Today was a great day. Everything went so nicely and smoothly. And then, this evening, I talked to someone I had not talked with in a long time and it made my day all the better. We’re going to talk soon and if things work out … something I had been hoping for will happen once I get home. It’s hopefully bonded leather and has gilded pages and has those nice ribbons that don’t get all bunched up like the ones in the Liturgy of the Hours.

God is very good.

I hope and pray every day that I shall never have to give up my friends as part of formation because these gifts I could not sacrifice. While they are not the center of my life, they make it more worthwhile and no man is an island.

Good night!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Teh Nun. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

