“Your desk is the Altar.”

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Memorial of Saint Albert the Great, bishop and Doctor of the Church

I am sorry it has been so long since I posted. Things have been busy and while I have had ideas for things to post, I just have not really been able to post here.

Our director is out of town and it is our week to cook so I am preparing the meals for this week. Yesterday was roasted chicken. Today, I am doing something with turkey. I forgot to pull it out last night so I Googled a way to speed defrost the turkey so it should be done soon. I did not want to nuke them because … eh … that’s in an absolute pinch. Luckily, we do not eat until later.

It’s hard to believe that I have been in Pittsburgh for two months already. But it’s true. Things are pretty regular now until after Christmas. Our next bit of major traveling will not be until the middle of December when we do head home for Christmas. I’ll be back on the east side for two weeks. I am really looking forward to it. You can take the girl out of Detroit but you can’t take the Detroit out of the girl. It will be nice to hear Archbishop Vigneron’s name being said at the Eucharistic Prayer. It’s the simple things. I am also looking forward to hearing our priests back at SJA sing Mass. Our priests have nice voices. Our pastor has a really nice voice. I have to admit, I miss hearing them sing the Mass.

I am also looking forward to seeing family and friends again. God knows that I won’t be having many more of those opportunities for a while. At least until after novitiate and profession. One of the sisters at SJA told me, “Remember, Allie, the life in a congregation is different from life in formation with the congregation.” Basically, as one of my theology profs used to say, “they are trying to separate the fly crap from the black pepper.”

This kinda ties into what I titles this post: “Your desk is the Altar” This comes from a conversation I had with a very dear friend of mine last week. We were discussing discernment and how God works on His time, not ours. I always look forward to chatting with them because I know that they are not withholding anything from me and I never have to second-guess what they say to me. They shoot from the hip. I hate it when people sugar-coat things or dance around an issue. Just tell me. if I get upset, that’s beside the point. Just tell me.

Anywho, they were counseling me about how to keep persistent and patient (something I need to grow in) throughout formation. I am too early, they said, in my formation for me to be thinking about anything too major. It was at that point that they told me that, at this point of my formation, “my desk is the Altar.” Basically, they were telling me that I need to work on my prayer life and that I need to rely more on Providence and worry less. They are all too familiar with my tendency to hyperanalyze to the point of neurosis. Trust me, they know.

That quote has stuck with me since they told me. Another thing they said that sticks with me is: “Just endure and be patient.” I would be lying if I were to say that I was not a bit homesick. But I see that as a good thing, that means that I had a great experience the twenty-three years I was in Michigan. I had and have very deep roots and God help anyone who tries to take a weed-wacker, scythe, or dull spork to those roots or try to weaken them with plant-killer or bad karma. Bah.

I will never forget when one of my priest-friends told me something similar to what I have quoted. He told me, “There will be times when you will want to leave. There will be times when you just want to give up. I had them. I had them often at first. Resist them.” I have every intention of doing so. And I can only do so through the grace of God.

I intend to pray more. The altar will be my desk. It has been. And my patron saints have been my study buddies. I have discovered anew devotion to the Infant of Prague. I have my own Infant statue complete with a set of vestments (though I don’t have green, black, or rose vestments … I make it work). My spiritual director and confessor at home gave it to me.

I’ll never give up my Infant. He’s grown on me. If I cannot have biological kids, He can be my child. He so cute. I even got Him His own vigil light. I was searching for good church-y kitsch at a Saint Vincent de Paul (’twas kinda disappointing) when I came upon this little plug-in vigil light … very trad and very pretty. I keep it on all the time. It just runs a little nightlight so it does not really consume much electricity.

Well, I have a few other things I have to take care of for the day: get things ready for supper preparations, pray more of my Office, and work on some things I have to accomplish this week.

Have a great day!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Musings, Nunly Things and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

