Here is an update for you

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Memorial of Saint John Bosco, priest.

Well, it’s been a week so I figure I may as well let you all know what’s going on. I’ll spare you the story and I will give you bullet points.

-After much prayer and discernment, I have come to a decision.
-This decision was not made lightly nor easily.
-I left the Felician Congregation effective two weeks ago this coming Wednesday (1 February).
-I now continue my discernment.

Trust me, was not easy. Not easy at all. But I made the right decision. And I am not looking back. I have no regrets. God will provide.

Where do I go from here?

-I find a job to re-establish myself and get a bit more independence.
-Keep going to daily Mass and making daily meditations on my prayers from the Divine Office and daily adoration.
-Continue with my discernment
-Go on a Sisters of Mary retreat some time in the future when things have settled a bit and I have a bit more stretching room financially and socially.

Discernment-wise, I know that I want/am called to do this:

-Dedicate my life to the Church
-Pray the Divine Office (the official version) as an integral part of my spirituality (I refuse to give it up)
-Dedicate my life to serving the priests who sacrifice their lives for the Church and her needs.

Just how that all is done, I do not know as clear yet.

I am hoping to get into grad school sometime in the future. Take the GRE. I would like to Sacred Heart Major Seminary for either my Masters in Theology or a Masters of Pastoral Studies. I am leaning more toward the MA but God will tell.

I have been talking to one of the younger priests at SJA and it’s been great to have wonderful theological conversations! The fact that we are both possessors of rather dry and kinda sarcastic senses of humor makes it even more fun. Sarcasm is not a way of disguising insecurities. It’s a way of illustrating inferred irony.

In other news, I am going to the student-teacher volleyball game on Friday to celebrate Catholic Schools Week. It’s been great to see the kids. Some college and high school friends and I are planning on going to a Red Wings game in March. I just hope we can find a block of about five or six tickets for a good price. This will be fun!

I know God will provide. I know I made the right decision. Those very few who are not liking it are a.) ignorant of the situation and/or b.) stuck in the old stigma of leaving the convent. I don’t have to be a sister to dedicate my life to the Church in the way I want to. I have to understand this. Others have to understand this too.

Have a great day!
-Allie

PS
I am thinking of getting rid of email post following. You know, when you can sign up to get updates via email. Yeah, I want to get rid of that. So if you are signed up to receive updates. Do the RSS feed. The email thing is not going to be for much longer.

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Musings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

