Is it really Lent already?

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

It’s been a while since I actually wrote a post. I stole one a few weeks ago from a priest-friend of mine but now I figure I may as well prove to you all that I am actually still alive.

I don’t know if I mentioned this in my last post but, through the Providence of God, I got a job with “The Living Stations of the Cross.” Right now I am doing publicity work along the lines of phone calls and sending out information but once the performances start in about a week, I shall be pretty much living at the Cathedral and helping out with the performances in varying capacities. It was Providence because within about two weeks of coming home, one of my friends in the parish who is a well-known Catholic radio and speaking personality, dropped my name with the event that her media company is helping with publicity and such. It was truly Providence-in-action.

I have been going to Mass every morning, praying my Divine Office, making daily meditations before the Blessed Sacrament, and chatting with my dear priest-friends. Actually, I had a very nice day yesterday. I had a chat with one of my most dear priest-friends, assisted at our parish’s weekly Lenten Stations of the Cross, and attended a night of prayer for the women of my parish. I hope they have more of those, it had a very good turn-out considering it only got about three weeks of publicity and it ran until almost midnight on a Friday. It reminded me of when I was home for Christmas when I went into the church at ten at night and just basked in the dark silence of the church.

My great-grandmother died about a week ago. She was 98 and a month away from turning 99. I can’t say that I have been mourning much because she lived a full life and she knew that it was time to go back to God. She lived on her own for forty years after her husband (my great-grandfather) died in the 70s and did not spend a day in the hospital until about two weeks before she died. Her body just gave out while her mind remained sharp until the about two days before she died.

Being the Church lady in my family, I was commissioned to be the coordinator of all things liturgical from the Scripture service (which I led complete with portable holy water aspergil and official ritual book of awesomeness), to planning the Mass with her four daughters (one of whom is my grandmother), emceeing the funeral, and leading all of the services at the cemetery. It was my contribution to the family’s work toward giving her a wonderful farewell. That Scripture service was my first Scripture service (I never had a chance to lead one before I entered) and by all accounts, it was very well-done.

I really needed the chat that I had with my dear priest-friend and our chat really was amazing. We discussed my plans for what I will be doing in the coming year or so. While I am the one who makes the ultimate decision, his counsel in one that I find to be indispensable.

In the coming year I hope to:

-Get my license (around April/May-ish) so I can finally drive.
-Save up money for a car.
-Take the GRE
-enroll at Sacred Heart Major Seminary and pursue either a MAPS or an MA in Theology (specific concentration I know not yet)
-go on retreat or just have a couple days of silence.

I figure that should keep me plenty busy. It also sounds like the Living Stations want me to work for them after the performances are done on 1 April. And it also sounds like I shall be helping out on an as-needed basis at SJA so it’s all good. God will provide. He always does.

Today, I am spending the day doing laundry, putzing, and mending some vestments used for Eucharistic Adoration and Benediction. Since I am home, I will probably be polishing all the fancy silver and gold things that we use for Easter Vigil in a couple weeks. I have my polishing toothbrush at the ready.

Well, I just figured I would give an update. I hope to post more often but it also depends on how much schedule goes.

Have a blessed day!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Musings, SJA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

