Good Saint Aloysius

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Holy Saturday

Saint Aloysius Gonzaga

Never mind that when he and I first met, it took me what seemed like eons to learn how to spell his name.

Saint Aloysius and I have been buddies since I was a young child of God in grade school when I found his brief bio in a picture book of saints (the one with the gold cover by Father Lovasik) and was in-tre-goo-way-ed (“intrigued” for persons with IQs higher than -50) by his “weird” name (it was before my love affair with Latin began.)

Well, as you can see here and in most images of my dear saint, he is holding and adoring a crucifix. He is usually also shown with what used to be called in religious circles “the discipline” (the whip), which signifies his life of penance, and lilies, which signify his purity of life.

I want to call to your attention the crucifix.

As I mentioned in my post yesterday about my experience during the Liturgy of the Lord’s Passion, I felt a great sense of love and peace when I kissed the feet of Christ on the crucifix. I remember closing my eyes and placing my hands behind the cross like someone would cradle the head of their loved one as they kissed them. I did not want to let Him go but I had to. I treasured that moment because in that time, it was just Him and me. He, the great High Priest Who though sinless offered His whole self on the Cross for a terrible sinner like me.

I did not get the connection to Saint Aloysius until this morning while I was putzing on my laptop (also named “Aloysius”) and his picture came up on my desktop slideshow. It actually stopped me when I realized that my dear saint and I share at least one thing in common: our love for the crucified Lord. Some images of Saint Aloysius show him kissing the crucifix but there are very very few (if any) images of him where he lacks one. But it is symbolic of how he united his whole life, work, and sufferings (he had many spiritual pains and physical pains) to Christ crucified.

How do we unite every aspect of our lives to Christ crucified? Do we give Him all of our sufferings (not matter how great or small)? Do we give Him all of our joys? If we have any problems, do we bring them to the foot of the Cross and leave them there? Do we give all of our loved ones to Him and His Mother? Aloysius did.

No wonder I love this saint so much! I am so glad that he is my name saint!

All right, I have to get some more stuff done before I head over to church for the Vigil. I am sooo excited for the return of the bees! How often do you get to hear a priest sing about bees in a liturgical setting?

Have a blessed Easter!
-Allie

PS
In case, you did not notice, I am featuring the post I wrote yesterday about the homily one of my priest-friends preached at the Good Friday Liturgy. It’s very good and well-worth the read. Just scroll to the top (hit the HOME key on your keyboard) or hit the HOME button at the top of the page. Seriously. Read it. Go to his blog and such. You shan’t regret it. He is a very good and holy priest and his writings and homilies are very well done.

Have a great day!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Musings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

