Day 2 of “A Canon a Day …”

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Easter Wednesday

Before I get into today’s bit of canonical jurisprudential fun (I know you are just chomping at the bit), I have a bit of a non sequitur of sorts. I also want to thank you all for the prayers for my special intention. Keep them coming!

I just spent the last six or seven hours typing in address information for my job with “Living Stations.” It reminded me of my time at SJA when I would be given a large assignment that involved setting up a database (one that sticks out is the database of all the funerals that ever occurred at the parish since its founding in 1927), I would go a bit stir crazy. After a while, I would have to get up and do something. Today, I took a lunch break while watching the Tiger game. I used to go on a walk to the water cooler or make a five second visit to the Lord in the chapel.

Well, after my break today, I went in full throttle (I had to have done at least two hundred) until a little while ago. I got up and decided I needed to do something. Something that involved getting up and moving around.

I cleaned my mother’s granite countertops with my signature vinegar water cocktail that cleans, shines, and deodorizes even the most stubbornly stained surface naturally. I used to use store bought stuff but it never cut it and granite polish is redonkulously priced for what you get. And it reeked like sin. If Imma smell from cleaning, Imma smell like salad!

Oh, and my hearing has been in the crapper lately. I can’t hear a thing. At least hardly. Right now, I am listening to my podcasts with the volume up rather high just to get it to sound normal. No doubt when other come into the room, I will be told to turn it down. Hopefully it will come back tomorrow or later today. Going out tonight for pizza. Tee hee hee. 🙂

All right, let’s get back on topic, for once.

Now that we have covered the most important canon “The salvation of souls is the supreme law of the Church.” Let’s start at the beginning of the good ol’ Code. We’re going to “quickly” take on a couple canons here. The number of canons I cover in a post depend on two things: the depth of the content (some of this stuff gets really in-depth) and the amount of time I have on hand.

The canons of this Code regard only the Latin Church.

This very first canon is one of the many parameters that are set up in the Code to describe and outline just who, what, where, when, and how the Code is to be applied. In this first canon, it states that this Code pertains only to the affairs of the Latin Rite Church. Holy Mother Church is made up of twenty-two sui iuris, that is autonomous churches (aka rites) that while they possess their own hierarchy, traditions, and disciplines and while being “juridically distinct” are still united under the Bishop of Rome (aka the Pope). These non-Latin Rite churches (aka Eastern Catholics) have their own book like the Latin Code known as the Code of Canons of the Eastern Churches and that code dictates things in the way the Code of Canon Law (CIC) applies to the Latin Church.

Canon 2: For the most part, the Code does not define the rites which must be observed in celebrating liturgical actions. Therefore, liturgical laws in force until now retain their force unless one of them is contrary to the canons of the Code.

This states the obvious: Don’t go to the Code for liturgical norms in great detail. In saying “for the most part,” the writer/legislator “implies that there are canons of the code that do regulate the liturgy” as is found in Book IV of the CIC (Commentary 49-50). It is also implied that most laws that set liturgical standards are not found in the Code but rather in other official Church documents (such as documents from the Congregation for Divine Worship and the Discipline of the Sacraments) such as the liturgical books and the rites themselves (all of which contain an introduction and some other intro to other parts of the rites). It would be impossible to try to quantify the Church’s liturgical norms in the Code. In fact, she has another “body of ecclesiastical law” that is larger than the CIC, which is called the liturgical law (50).

Norms of the liturgy promulgated (released) before the CIC came out in 1983 are not affected by the Code unless they in some way run contrary to the canons (50). An interesting fact is that when the CIC was promulgated, “it was necessary to modify seventy-six norms of the liturgical books” in order to bring them “up to Code” (har har.) (50). In this regard, canon 2 is considered incomplete because “not only were the liturgical norms contrary to the Code abrogated (abolished), but also abrogated were the liturgical norms that were completely reordered by the Code in keeping with canon 6″ (50).

While, from a technical point of view, canon 2 is extraneous because the general rules of canon 6 are applicable to the liturgical norms. However, the

canon has a kind of pastoral and didactic value in that it alerts the canonist and the Christian community at large to the existence of another major and important body of ecclesiastical law apart from the Code (50).

Well, I figure this should be good for now.

Would you all like me to keep up with this? I would really like your feedback on this. I am open to writing about other things I am reading (two Ratzinger books on the Liturgy and the Eucharist and a book on the organic Development of the Liturgy). I think one of the Ratzinger books would be fun to look at. And it would break up the Canon Law fun. Variety is the spice of life.

I hope you all have a blessed evening!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Fun with Canon Law, Random Fun-ness. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

