So apparently …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!

Saint Anthanasius, Bishop and Doctor of the Church

Today is Joan of Arc’s birthday? Why was I not informed of this sooner? Why did I not know this when I was in college so my friends and I could have BOTH Guy Fawkes’ Day and Joan of Arc’s birthday to celebrate with fire-themed revelries … most of us were Catholic so yes, we understand the former is really a celebration of a Protestant triumph over an attempted Catholic reform. It was an excuse to watch “V for Vendetta,” for one of us to wear a Guy Fawkes mask, and to recite the “Remember, remember” poem ad infinitum.

At least with Joan of Arc’s birthday, we could have done something really fun like charge the administration building and call them a den of heretics and a brood of vipers who are rallying against the holy will of God and His most holy Church … ’cause they were. Like the Siege of Orleans. Now, the whole “burning at the stake” thing would have to be altered slightly because apparently freshmen have rights too. <—- poor freshies were always the butt of jokes with the upperclassmen … if only they did not make it soooooooooo easy!

The wonderful and yet horrifying entity that is know as the Internetz is giving me two different bits of information for her birthday. I am getting article(s) that say she was born in May (and call her a “cultural export” like she was brie cheese or fine red wine) and the others who say she was born in December. The all-knowingly source of all truth (and the starting material … I CHECKED THE SOURCES … of my philosophy papers) Wikipedia only has her birth year, which really is not a surprise since she was born like 600 years ago. All Gore had not invented the Internet or computers yet. Nor had Wi-Fi or 4G been discovered by Benjamin Franklin. Simply medieval times they lived in.

So, since the French are celebrating her “birthday” (which I think is the secular media’s inability to compute the concept of a FEAST DAY, which falls on the 30th of this month) now, I think I shall begin the twice weekly posting of clips of “The Passion of Joan of Arc” today/tonight. I would have started it yesterday but I wanted to give good Saint Joseph his day and not usurp it. The Lord knows he does not get the attention he deserves from some.

I will probably post again tonight when I go through what is becoming my evening ritual many nights. During the day, I have some things to which I must attend (one of which, I wish, was a TLM but we can’t always get what we want, can we? *le sigh*). It’s amazing all the crap one can accumulate when you’re not even home. I am cleaning out my room. Expunging all the stuff I do not need anymore. I have to find boxes for the books of which I am letting go. I have not really organized my Theology library that much since I graduated and it really needed it. I have it all sorted out by topic for the Theology and my literature is sorted by author.

Yes, I have obsessive-compulsive tendencies. You should have seen me when I was little when I would get a box of crayons or colored pencils, I would organize them by their position in the spectrum and if anyone messed them up, I would go crazy and have to redo them over again. Yeah, been dealing with this issue for a long time. Add to that my perfectionism and you have wonderful, beautiful, witty, hyperanalytical, obsessive-compulsive ME!

Oh, and did I mention that my sister, my dear younger sister, who denied having all of my Game Boy games (yes, I am old school like that), just so happened to have “found” them for me in her room yesterday? It was like Christmas. I had my complete Game Boy Advance system along with all of my favorite games once again! I was excited to see all my Super Mario games again. I was just beside myself when she found my classic Duck Tales game that was originally on NES. Intact! Oh man. It was so hard to get anything done because I wanted to play these games so bad. I had not played any of these in yeeeeearsssssss. Srsly. It was beautiful.

Oh, and she had a few tops/t-shirts for which I had been looking for a long time and she repeatedly denied having them. The only fatality of my things that I know of thus far: all of those expensive professional colored pencils that my mother got me for a gift were found scattered about and trampled underfoot. When I saw that, I had to leave the room lest I commit felony and I had just been to Confession. That and I was beginning to have a panic attack from all of the craziness that was occurring with all hulabaloo that was going on in that room. Dang. My OCD was going insane.

I also had to freshen up my two altars I have in my room (no, I don’t offer Mass there … I like to stay in Holy Mother Church, thankyouverymuch). One is on top of my bookshelf that has a statue of Our Lady of Fatima, Saint Therese (it was owned by my aunt before she died when she was 16), and a statue of the Infant of Prague. I have holy cards for persons in my family and friends who have died and some flowers. Since it’s May, I have a candle burning in front of Our Lady. When I am not using my pyx, I have it covered at the foot of the crucifix I have there too. It sounds like a lot but it’s not that much. Don’t worry, I purify it before I store it.

My other one is on my dresser. It’s the statue of the Infant of Prague one of my priest-friends gave me not long before I left for the convent. This one I can dress according to the seasons so He’s wearing white. I don’t know if He’s blessed so maybe I can take Him in one day and have Him and all His swag blessed. My classmate when i was in the convent made me a green vestment for my birthday so I am looking forward to dressing Him in that after Easter. I also have my beloved statue of good Saint Aloysius (he has a story that maybe I’ll share one day) standing next to him. Around the Infant, I have my high school diploma, grade school diploma and some other academic honors, this reminds me that all my personal abilities, intellectual or otherwise come not from me but from God and they are His gifts that He allows me to use to glorify Him. It’s good to have a reminder of that from time to time. It’s keeps the self humble.

My Theta Alpha Kappa (National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society) certificate is also there but that’s only because I have not put a nail in the wall for it yet under my college degree. I have my two caps hanging from my mirror on my dresser. My white one from high school (all-female schools typically wear white for graduation) has my honor cords, tassel, and the service awards I won for all the community service I did (mostly at SJA) … we needed 60 hours to graduate, I had well over 2,500 hours. On the other corner I have my black college cap which I chalked with the Marian insignia that is on the back of the Miraculous Medal (my last ZING to the College for sacrificing its Catholicity on the altar of relativism, modernism, and all those other -ism’s that don’t belong in a Catholic institution), my hood with college colors and scarlet velvet lining for Theology, and my Theta Alpha Kappa honor cords.

You probably did not care one iota about any of that but I felt like sharing because I am that kind of person. Oh, and can’t forget Our Lady of Perpetual Help hanging on the wall next to my bed along with my guardian angel cross that I have had since I was an infant, and my icons of Saint Joan, Saint Michael, and of the “Sweet Kissing” or Glykophilousa(Γλυκοφιλούσα) of Our Lady and Jesus.

I had been looking for an image of Our Lady of Perpetual Help for so long. One day, just before I graduated from college, my friends and decided to go thrifting one last time. We drove to the Saint Vincent de Paul in Grand Rapids and starting browsing. As I am looking around, my eyes fall on this picture of Our Lady and then it hits me! That’s Our Lady of Perpetual Help! I simply had to give her a home. And she was 10 bucks so no major dent in my pocket. So, I bought her, brought her back to my room and cleaned her up in my OCD way. Then I read on the back that the image had been touched to the original that is in the Redemptorist church in Rome! SCORE!

So yeah, count on me posting the first clip of “The Passion of Joan of Arc” tonight. After everything is done, I’ll watch it and follow in the libretto and we can go on from there. How does that sound?

BTW, do any of you pray the Divine Office (the official one)? How are you liking all the readings from the Book of Revelation? That has always been one of my favorite books of the Bible.

All right, until later!

Have a great day!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Papism, Random Fun-ness, Trad Catholicism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

