Musings After a Rainy Rosary Walk

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!

Monday of the Fifth Week of Easter

*Before I start, I just want to call to your attention the fact that I have expanded my link list so feel free to browse them, if you have suggestions, submit them to the Link Suggestions page and I shall consider them*

Anywho …

Today is just one of those wonderful days. Truly it is. I stopped at the school to drop off my money for my ride bracelet and then walked over to church. It’s been raining since early this morning and I relish in days like this. When I was in college, I would almost always go for a walk on days and evenings that were rainy. There is something about the peacefulness of the sound of rain falling through the trees and splashing in the puddles that soothes me. I would love rainy days because I would either be in my room or at the library, working on papers or studying with the sound of the rain hitting the window pane. If it was a thunderstorm, all the better. In fact, right now, I have my window open and I am listening to the rain falling outside my window.

I sat in church, prayed my Office and made my meditation before Mass. All the while I got to listen to one of my favorite sounds, the sound of the steady rain falling on the tiered copper roof of the church. I have loved that sound since I was a little one at the school. The only thing that could have made it better would have been it being nighttime, with the only light in the whole building being the red sanctuary lamp reflecting against the thousands gold and colored tiles of the mosaic reredos. All through Mass I got to listen to the rain and it made me so happy. It’s the simple things in life that make it worthwhile.

After Mass, I putzed a bit, chatted a smidge and then made my way home. I threw on my powder blue chenille/terry Victoria’s Secret jacket (that I got redonkulously on sale), popped in my ear buds, yoinked out lovingly my Rosary and began my trek in the rain with my black umbrella overhead.

Since I have the attention span of a tsetse fly sometimes, I tend to pray the Rosary using a recording. My preference is for this CD put out by Sacred Heart Major Seminary in Detroit a few years ago. I used to pray with it constantly when I was in the convent. I would go for my Rosary walks where I would pray a fifteen decade Rosary and pray devotions to Our Lady of Perpetual Help while walking about 26 city blocks down and then back again. I had a ritual where I would time the Rosary so that I would be in between mysteries when I would stop at a coffee shop around the time I turned to walk back and pick up a hot cider or a skim steamer with the barista’s (he was a nice young guy) choice of flavor). I really enjoy the meditations and it’s very relaxing. Also, how can one go wrong hearing a chapel full of seminarians pray the Rosary for vocations? That’s right, you can’t.

As I am walking home, two parishioners (one I recognized and another I did not on the spot) offered me a ride but I told them that I loved this weather and that I wanted to pray my Rosary on my way home. People are so kind and gracious. God bless them and Mary keep them for their kind thinking of me. So much for me being “unapproachable” and “caustic,” eh? *rolls eyes annoyedly*

Walking in the rain is a wonderful experience, you hear the rain falling in the trees, dripping from the leaves, and splashing down onto the ground in puddles. The whole world seems more still than when it’s bright and sunny. The birds sound differently. You see the worms coming to the surface because they can’t breathe underground when it’s waterlogged. You watch how the water splashes as a car drives through a big puddle on the side of the road and pray you don’t get drenched.

Though I was already pretty soaked. Thank the Lord I wrapped my Missal up in a plastic bag (I have yet to find a black leather cover that would fit it right). With every step I took, I could hear the soft squishing of my now drenched ankle socks against the equally sopping shoes. My brand new New Balances were baptized today. I could feel the water moving around in my shoe so I would do a half-goose step (passing drivers probably thought I was insane) to get some of the water out but after a while, I just gave up on getting my feet dried up a bit before arriving home so I savored every puddle I walked through though some were deeper than I had estimated.

All while this is going on around me, the deep masculine voices of the seminarians prayed the Rosary, bead by bead, prayer by prayer. The water dripped down from my umbrella and onto my hand that was clasping my Rosary. I could feel the slippery-ness of the water over the smooth glass beads and the cool metal chain work as they glided through my pruny fingers. When I got to the Salve Regina and kissed the medal at the beginning of the prayer, the damp coolness of the silver felt so wonderful against my lightly-glossed lips. I ran my fingers over the slick details of the crucifix as I made the last Sign of the Cross and kissed His feet with love.

After the Rosary was done, I put it away and started listening to other music but had the volume down low so I could hear all the sounds around me and really pay attention to the beauty that is God’s creation during a steady rainfall.

I got to the door, pulled out my key and trudged into the house. I untied my shoes, took off my coat and laid them out in the laundry room to dry for a bit. Walked up the stairs to my room, said “hello” Our Lady and the Infant of Prague, pulled off my socks (still don’t know why I didn’t do that downstairs), and looked in the mirror on my dressing table where I keep all my spackle and shellac.

Holy Mother Church! My hair was a hot and wet mess! My bangs were curly (when my hair is wet and left unattended, it curls) and the volume I try my rear off to get with my very fine hair was gone.

Out came the blow dryer and the round brush and in a matter of a few minutes, my hair was back to being the nicely-arranged coiffure my tendencies dictate. Thank the Lord it did not dry that matted hot mess that it was.

After I alleviated that emergency, I changed out of my clothes (my black slacks were soaked at the bottom) and put on my Detroit Tigers pants and shirt and began to blog.

To most, this was probably a post about nothing but to me, these simple things are what makes life so beautiful. That God loves us so much that he gives us rainy days so we can hear the water flowing over the leaves and splashing into puddles. That we can see how the colors of the flowers and the trees pop against the gray backdrop of the overcast skies. That we can hear in the stillness the birds chirping and the steady drip-drip of the rain as it trickles off the leaves. That we can smell the rain in the air as the breeze blows it through our open window.

God truly does love us. Individually and uniquely so that we can each enjoy His majesty in even the simplest rainfall.

Have a great day!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Musings, Random Fun-ness and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

