I don’t think God likes hot pink ankle socks (I <3 Saint Michael)

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!

Tuesday of the Eighth Week in Ordinary Time (Vigil of the Feast of Saint Joan of Arc)

So I went to Mass this morning and it was pretty warm considering it was 7:30 when I got there. I could smell rain. I could taste rain. I couldn’t hear the rain (because the change in barometric pressure causes my hearing to become diminished contingent on the degree of change). I knew it was coming. There were also some darker nimbus clouds that usually harken rain so I knew I had to get moving after Mass. But I did have to stop at the office to get some stuff for my mother.

After I accomplished my task, I began my Rosary walk home. Then my phone buzzes; it’s my mother. “Did you grab me some letterhead and envelopes or did I forget to ask you?” All right, mother. I turn around and head back to get the desired items. The secretary says it looks like it’s going to get nasty out. I tell her I love walking in the rain and head back out. Let’s try this again.

So, I am watching the sky as I walk home praying my Rosary. It’s getting darker and darker. Crap. I better get home. My father calls, he says that by his office it is pouring. His office is about a ten minute drive from home. It’s heading right for me. I speed up my steps a bit. Four more blocks. I can do this.

I finish my Rosary. Just as I finish the Sign of the Cross and kiss His feet, WHAM … it starts pouring like nobody but God’s business. SRSLY. The street were getting flooded in no time.

I pull my bag with all my church stuff next to me knowing that while they will get wet regardless, they might not get as soaked if they are more covered.

I walk and walk and walk. My shoes get more and more drenched as I hear the all-too-familiar squish of my feet in my already-baptized New Balances. Why is it that whenever I wear my hot pink no-show ankle socks, it ALWAYS POURS?!?!?! God must not like hot pink or something.

It’s such a torrential downpour that even my clothes are stuck. I can feel them clinging to me. Luckily, it’s not sweat. It’s cool rain so it feels really good after all the heat we’ve been having the past few days. Bah. You all know my position on heat.

I eventually make it to the back door and trudge in. I throw my umbrella into the laundry room sink to drip dry and race upstairs to assess the damage of my “God books” as I call them: my Missal and Breviary. My resolution to find a large enough cover for my Missal was reinforced with what mine eyes saw when I pulled it out of my bag.

The pages were drenched. I held it up and watched the water run off. It almost would not be so bad if the pages were not GILDED!!!! BAH!!!

My Breviary has a cover and luckily something told me to make sure I zipped it up all the way this time. Thank God I did. That saved it and the gilded pages.

I Google how to salvage a drenched book. I have my Missal standing on its head (the top edge) on top of a washcloth absorbing all the moisture. It said something about the freezer so Imma do that later.

Before I began the salvage job on my Missal. I removed all my holy cards. Most of them are the laminated kind so they are fine but the ironic thing kinda-sorta is that my most treasured holy cards are not laminated. They are mostly ordination cards of dear priest-friends and the funeral cards of friends and family who have died. What can I say? I am a church lady!

I have the unlaminated ones all laid out getting flattened between by my Code of Canon Law Commentary (that thing is huuuuuge) and a laminated (and thus non-stick) cheat sheet I have from my philosophy classes (that thing was a HUGE help when reviewing philosophical schools, etc.) in college.

I needed to get my mind off the impending doom of my Missal. My poor missal. So my mind moves onto getting a new Saint Michael medal. Yes. I must find a new one!

I call one of my brick and mortar places and ask if they have that very one I want. The lady goes and checks. They do and they are holding it for me! YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!!!!!! Hopefully we are going to get him tonight! I am sooooooooooooo excited. Imma run into that store like they are having an indulgence sale!!!!!!!

AND …

They have leather covers!!! Imma see if they have one that will fit my thick Missal. Especially after this traumatic experience. Oh Lawrd! My old leather cover was not thick enough hence why my Missal has been exposed to the elements since I got him. He was blessed by Bishop Zubik of Pittsburgh at Epiphany Sunday Mass. Baptized by Father Hoang at the Easter Vigil. Doused with the Holy Ghost whenever there is a downpour and God makes the water flow into my bag past all my defenses I have set to keep it from getting wet.

The funny and yet not-so-funny thing?

It stopped raining almost as soon as I got into the house and up to my room. Ha Ha, Lord. very funneh.

And to think, had I just said I would get that letterhead and envelopes later, I probably would not have gotten soaked like I did.

Meh. It was God’s will. I enjoy a good jaunt in the rain sans the doused Missal.

But, I am ABSOLUTELY BESIDE MYSELF THAT I AM GETTING MICHAEL LATER!!!! PLEASE, GOD, LET IT BE THE RIGHT ONE!!!! My other medals probably miss him. I know I do.

Did I mention that I ❤ ❤ ❤ Saint Michael?

I'll have to tell you about my experience with Michael in college that caused me to have such an ardent devotion to good Saint Mikey. 🙂

That's another post. I have like 20 Rosaries to make by tomorrow night! So. Much. Fun.

Have a great day! Happy Vigil of the Feast of Saint Joan of Arc!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Church Lady Stuff, Musings, Papism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I don’t think God likes hot pink ankle socks (I <3 Saint Michael)

What do you think?

