The Trinity, Augustine, and Hockey

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
In aeternum!

Vigil of Trinity Sunday

Latin Trinity Diagram

One of the best basic explanations of the Trinity.

Random Fact that has to do with the Trinity:
One of the first Latin things I memorized in grade school was the medieval Trinity diagram (see above). Seems basic now but for a seventh grader, that was pretty cool (at least to me). I would draw it in the margins of my religion books (I was a doodler … it helped me process)

So here I am watching Game 2 of the Stanley Cup Finals with the LA Kings against the New Jersey Devils. I have not been so faithful watching the hockey games since the Wings got owned earlier in the playoffs so I am trying to make up for lost time (better late than never). When I lived in Pittsburgh, I used to watch Pens games (dun! dun! dun!) and I felt like a traitor (because I was). I would even be kinda happy when they scored. I felt dirty. Like I had betrayed my beloved Red Wings.

So in order to mitigate some of the gravity of my sin, I would wear my Osgood jersey, even if the Wings were not playing. I am continuing that now so I don’t feel bad about watching a non-Red Wings game. It’s just me being weird. In my defense about the Pens thing, when I would go for my walks around Pittsburgh, I would wear my Red Wings scarf, hat, and ear muffs. My allegiance was never in question.

Oh, and I cannot watch any hockey coverage that is on NBC or VS because they have a beef against Detroit. When I was in college and my friends and I would have hockey-study parties (that usually also involved a six pack and Guitar Hero), we would opine about how anti-Detroit those networks were so we would always be happy when the game was carried by Fox Sports Detroit. Grand Rapids did not have CBC (the Canadian station) so we had to do without Don Cherry and his loud suits (you would think some hardcore hockey fan would dress up like him for Halloween). If we had to watch either of those two networks, it was always because it was a last resort.

Besides, they always spoke over Journey’s “Don’t Stop Believin'” when they would play it at the Joe at the end of games we were winning … one of the ultimate insults to Wings fans. We ALWAYS sang it … especially “born and raised in SOUTH DETROIT!” I still do that. Whenever it comes up on my iPod, I have to listen to it. That song and “Hey Hey Hockeytown” which is also my ringtone. Yeah, I bleed Catholicism and Red Wings.

Since I have my priorities in line, I prayed I Vespers before the game started. Then I realized, “You yutz, it’s Trinity Sunday! There are proper psalms and such for that!” So I found the pages and re-prayed Vespers. I don’t feel like I was very attentive (really should not have had the tele on) so I am probably going to re-re-pray it tonight before Compline. Pardon me for being human!

Kings just scored! (1-0) YAY!**********

So you are probably wondering what the title of this post means. It’s because after I am done posting here, I am going to crack open my copy of Saint Augustine’s De Trinitate and read some of it in honor of Trinity Sunday. We actually read this for a class in college. I had an entire class dedicated to this text. If you have ever read it, you’ll know why. The Trinity Himself (or is it ITself? idk … *Theology FAIL*) is something that we will never fully understand. Augustine does a dang good job coming to a clearer understanding of it considering the finitude of man’s mind compared to the infinitude that is God. I recall that I would be in class sometimes and I could feel my mind start to overheat. It was a good kind of overheating. Like when we read Phenomenology of the Human Person for my Catholic Intellectual Tradition class. Except in the latter, I think I also felt it start to melt out of my ears. I have to re-read that book too. Imagine explaining what phenomenology is to either a group of sisters or, even more fun, a group of grade school kids. YAY.

*flips through De Trinitate*

Dang, I had a lot of notes in the margins. And I am one to not write in her books. Though I was known in high school to go through religion textbooks and capitalize the pronouns for God. The girls who got my books after me would always know it was me because there would be penned in capitalizations and comments in the margins. They said that sometimes my commentary was more interesting than the class (sometimes?!?! Try “most of the time!” and that’s not being prideful … that’s being honest!!)

I figure, I can grow spiritually studying the profundity of the Trinity while enjoying (with a bit of a qualm) a good hockey game. I can hear one of my Theology profs making a comment about how he could write a dissertation during a baseball game (because I know he could).

All right, I have to get back to the game. “Coach’s Corner” is on and I love Don Cherry’s loud suits and commentary!

GO KINGS!!!! **********

Have a blessed Trinity Sunday!
-Allie

**********Disclaimer**********
I am only cheering for the Kings because a.) the Wings are not playing (don’t get me started on that), and b.) I, along with many people I know who are into hockey, do not like the Jersey Devils for one reason or another (sorry, Louise). I wear my Osgood jersey, as I said, to mitigate some of the guilt incurred from watching a non-Wings game and “cheering” on a team other than the Red Wings. My heart will always belong to the Red Wings. I am just working with what I’ve got. 🙂

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Musings, Random Fun-ness, Red Wings/Hockey and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

