I have a confession to make …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in Aeternum! Amen!

Confession is good for the soul

Montgomery Clift in Hitchcock’s “I Confess,” one of my favorite of his films.

Tuesday of the Tenth Week of Ordinary Time

*whips on mantilla and kneels*

I am a shameless procrastinating perfectionist. Do you have any idea how painfully ironic that is?

Why is that?  Because I have had a list of things (rather big things) to complete since not long after I returned home from Pittsburgh.  One of those things was to set up an interview with graduate admissions at Sacred Heart Major Seminary in Detroit.

And I had not done it. They’ve been calling me. They probably think I’m some milquetoast (I ❤ that word) and all that jazz (how appropriate for a word that originated in the 1920s) and frankly a yutz.

Well, I finally did it today (after my angel and my mother have been lovingly nagging me). I called them. I wanted to do a Saturday appointment but the lady I need to talk to does not come in on Saturdays. So we are doing a phone interview on Monday at about 2pm. That will give me enough time to finish up VBS at noon. Walk home. And then get ready for my interview. I would have liked to have done it in-person but I lack vehicular transport to Chicago and Linwood so Laudetur Iesus Christus that they do phone interviews.

Oh, and if anyone questions whether prayer works, I asked the Lord today before Mass, “If you want me to call them and set up and interview, give me the grace to do and for it to work out.”

It did. Did I mention I am totally in love with this Guy? *pious lolz*

That takes one thing off my list. Here is the rest of my list (in no particular order since they are all equally vital):

1. DO NOT ROYALLY SCREW UP THIS INTERVIEW! <— I have so much faith in myself.
2. Sign up for and take that blessed test known as the GRE <— need to do that stat
3. Have Aquinas send my transcripts to SHMS <—- That's probably the easiest one to do (ha.).
4. Practice driving and get my blessed driver's license <—– That is the big kahuna of kahunas. SRSLY.

Seems small but it's quite a bit. That's why I have been giving it to God every day through Mary. Remember, the Lord cannot say "no" to anything His Mother asks Him. You gotta know people. Wow. That sounded heretical and it kinda smelled like "And you papists wonder why the Protestants broke off from you?"

If you guys could pray for me that would be a BIG ULTRA-SUPER MAJOR MEJOR HELP. Srsly. Thank you in advance.

I have to have all of this set and ready by 15 August which is the last day I can register for classes. I want to have that done well before. Imma go for my MA in Theology. I was looking over the academic stuff not too long ago and it says I have to write a thesis paper thing that is NOT to exceed SIXTY (6-0) pages on a theological topic that contributes to the field. Daaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaang. And I thought a 20 page Augustine paper was … special.

When (not if … when) I get all of this done, I am going to a TLM and offering it as a thanksgiving to God for all of the grace He will have given me. As Father Solanus Casey was known to say, "Thank God ahead of time for all that He will do for you." I try to do that though I forget and can be such an ungrateful child of God sometimes. Gotta learn to trust Him and thank Him always. Deo gratias.

Actually, aside from the neuroses from the battery and AC adapter that HAD to die simultaneously during my Hell Week o’ Papers (five or six papers due for all my mejor capstone classes … no Mickey Mouse Club here, people) (and then when I ordered a replacement adapter, it was shipped to the wrong address; my father sent it expedited shipping), it was not that bad. I just didn’t eat that much that week. My friends were bringing me granola bars and water to the library where I staked out a computer, turned the classical up on my iPod (Thank Gawd for iPod chargers), laid out my books, and got down to bid-ness. Never before had hitting CTRL+S and CTRL+P felt so very very good. Almost sinfully good. May have had an impish look on my face when I did it. Probably should have confessed that. Probably.

And you know? That last semester, all 20 hours (students typically take about fifteen) of it, were not that bad at all. I had excellent classes and wonderful profs. It was frankly my favorite semester and not just because it was my last one before gradumatating (though that was a very nice perk).

About the LA Kings winning the Cup last night (I fell asleep around the beginning of the third period and woke up just as they were hoisting the Cup … it was bittersweet):

I am glad they won. I was rooting for them, though I cannot fully root for them since that would make me a true traitor to my dear Red Wings (I have to justify my actions in order to legitimize them and thus mitigate any guilt I may feel … good ol’ quasi-loop holes). Now that they have won, I can now re-dedicate myself to cheering on my beloved Wings once the season starts anew. What the heck am I to do until then? I don’t know. Finish that list of mine? Just a thought.

Oh, and I have made a change. I have decided to jump out of my comfort zone. I installed Chrome on my computer. For years I have been using Firefox but I wanted to try something new so now I am working with Chrome. What are your thoughts on browsers? I have met some people who lurve Firefox and hate Chrome and I have met people who feel vice versa. Personally, Chrome at least seems faster to me and there also seems to be more screen real estate for browsing. Imma try it for a bit longer and see how I feel about it.

Well, Imma go grab a bite to eat. Haven’t eaten yet today. Should do that. It’s important. I have to get extra sleep this week because I am going to 7am Mass all week next week (but especially Thursday … Saint Aloysius’ Day) since I cannot go at my usual 8:30 because I have to be ready for VBS by 8:40.

Have a great day!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Church Lady Stuff, Papism, Prayer Requests, Random Fun-ness, Red Wings/Hockey, SJA and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

