The Hammer of Heretics

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in aeternum. Amen.

Saint Anthony of Padua, pray for us!

Memorial of Saint Anthony of Padua, priest and Doctor of the Church

What better way to wait for my nails to dry than to blog? I usually give myself a manicure once a week and add on a pedicure every other week (especially during sandal season). I am using a more neutral tone for my fingers because my eyes have this annoying tendency to find any and all chips, no matter how minute and then I have to deal with the urge to redo them even if I just did them. Yeah. Perfectionist tendencies are fun.

Good ol’ Saint Anthony. The poor man is pigeon-holed as solely the patron saint of lost items (he is yet to find my mind). Perhaps you know this little prayer-ditty:

Tony, Tony, look around.
Something’s lost and must be found.

Never mind that he was from Portugal and just lived a good chunk of his life in Italy. I-ties (Italians) such as myself have adopted him as one of our own (hence calling the good saint “Tony”). We kinda stole him from the Portuguese but that’s beside the point.

Never mind that he is known as the “Hammer of Heretics” or the “Evangelical Doctor.” Though I really like this legend of why he is the patron of lost objects (from the SQPN page I linked to above):

One source of the well-known patronage for the recovery of lost objects comes from a legend that, long after Anthony’s death, his old prayer book was kept as a treasured relic, and one day it disappeared. People prayed for help in finding the lost item, a novice found it and returned it; he later admitted that he had “borrowed” the book and returned it after receiving a vision of an angry Anthony.

Yeah. I would return it too if I had a vision of an angry saint.

He was known as an eloquent speaker and an ardent defender and promoter of the Church. I love the story of Saint Anthony proving the Real Presence to some heretics with a mule.

Saint Anthony, the donkey and the Real Presence

With that in mind, I want to share this video with you. It’s from the same Catholic group that put out that last video I posted yesterday. In this one, the priest counters the beliefs of New Atheism (the philosophy espoused by Sam Harris, Richard Dawkins and the late Christopher Hitchens). In a nutshell, New Atheism believes the faith and reason are mutually exclusive and that any kind of religious faith is merely delusion (hence Dawkins’ book The God Delusion) created by the masses (something that wonderful headache known as “post-modern philosophy is apt to call a “construct”) which is also why that mentally imbalanced (at the time, they say it was caused by tertiary syphilis) man with the crazy moustache, Nietzsche, called religion the “opiate of the masses.”

Look at that facial hair

I can’t imagine the schmutz that got caught in that ‘stache.

I guess I should post it, shouldn’t I? Yeah. Here it is:

Wouldathunk that it would take more faith to be an atheist than to be a Christian? Actually, it makes sense. Oh, ideological closures how, in this context, you exclude all that which is not empirical. Remember, experience is not the sole source of Truth. There are things that cannot be concretely proven using scientific methods and yet we still believe them to be true. That and it’s a bit more difficult to prove a negative (There is no God) so instead of trying to prove it (you can’t), you can be just like a little kid, take all your toys, and go home since obviously theists are meanies with their unprove-able belief in the “Uncaused Cause.”

Share this video along with the ones from yesterday and check out their channel. They have some good stuff on there that would appeal to many but especially young people.

I know today is my first day to do the whole “Saint Aloysius” thing. I have not forgotten but I have to put a coat of top coat on my fingers and let that dry before I head to din-din/sup-sup. I’ll write it tonight.

Have a great evening!
-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Musings, Papism, Random Fun-ness and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Hammer of Heretics

  1. from http://8kidsandabusiness.wordpress.com Speaking of science, when I was in nursing school, we studied biology, anatomy, physiology, chemistry, pathophysiology – all subjects which gave us an in-depth knowledge of the human body. Now as a nurse, I appreciate how intricate is the functioning of the body, how everything is related, how well designed. How can an athiest think that the body just came to be? It’s pretty arrogant to think that we just “happened.”

What do you think?

