It’s Sloth Saturday!

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in aeternum! Amen.

Random Catholic picture

I have a whole folder full of these Catholic posters on my computer. I just *have* to share them!

Memorial of the First Martyrs of the Holy Roman Church

I am such a bad Catholic today.  I woke up at 6:30 and grunted at my cell phone as it gleefully  played this:

Yeah, I wake up to Mozart every morning.  I need to change it up though.  It’s how I roll.  It’s my little bit of culture that perks me up or makes me wish for more sleep.

And thought to myself, “Do I want to go to Mass this morning?”

DUH!  Of course you do!

“Do I have the energy to do so?”

Not particularly.

***Don’t judge me and my voices.  At least I don’t talk about myself in the royal plural. ;)***

So in a horrible act of spiritual laziness that has thus messed up my whole day since I can’t miss Mass because it messes up the rhythm of my day … I skipped morning Mass.

Saint Michael and all my holy patrons, pray for my salvation.  Or at least that I don’t drop dead before I go to Mass tomorrow.  Srsly.  Can neither assume nor despair of the mercy of God but it’s best not to play roulette with your soul.  Good Lawrd.

Well, I’ve been tasting the fruits of my sloth since.

I didn’t get out of bed until 10am and decided to at least make an effort to do something.

Ha.

I got up.  My room, no matter what, is one of the hottest in the house.  I have a fan blowing on me at night and a spray bottle I use as a personal mister that helps a bit.

I had to get the sweaty funk off me.  It may not objectively be that bad but in my mind it must be expunged post haste!

I trudged out of my room.

The house is empty.  Sister is on her way to Lexington with her boyfriend and his family for the week.  Mother is at work.  Father is out doing stuff.

And here I am.

I tie my hair back, wash up, and take a bath.  I wash my hair and figure what is the use of doing it since the blow dryer will only make me warmer so I it dry on its own.  Save for the three or four cowlicks I have all over my head, it looks pretty good.  Flat but good.

I then throw on a t-shirt and some shorts … my typical lazy Saturday outfit since I am usually doing domestic things on Saturdays post-Missam.

Ha.  It’s too warm for me.  I throw on the swimsuit top again.

Much better.

I say to myself,  “Time to get something done!”

So I do dishes.  I love doing dishes.  I love the smell of Palmolive and the feeling of suds on my hands.  I need to give myself another manicure but Imma wait until after tomorrow’s swimming day o’ sun and reading.

Then I plop on the couch because heat sucks the life outta me like nothing else and I turn on “History” Channel.

I fall asleep.

I wake up and my father has me help him put the lawn mower in the back of the car.

I do it like a good faithful daughter.

Back in the house.  I putz on the Interwebz a bit.  Catch up on the day’s blogs and such that has happened overnight.

That’s basically what I did all day.

OH!  But I did watch EWTN Religious Catalogue!  I love that show.  It makes me wish I lived in the Church store because then it would be a taste of heaven.

My mother comes home.  She comments, “Allie, you must be warm.”

“No kidding, Matka.  I just love walking around like this all the time.”

She also commented on how nice I had done my hair.  Obviously layered with sarcasm.

Did I mention I love my mother?  ‘Cause I do.

I hate this weather.  It sucks the energy out of me.  What I would not do for a goodly downpour and thunderstorm of God’s glory.

Cannot wait until tomorrow’s post-Mass swimming day.

I will be so happy to go to Mass tomorrow.  Jubilant.  Beyond words.  I cannot believe I didn’t go to Mass this morning.

My dear matka tried to console me telling me that it was probably better (my mind couldn’t compute that statement) since I would have had to walk home and it was really warm around the time I would have come home and I probably would have been more exhausted than I am now had I tried walking home.

It’s been something I have always dealt with: my body cannot process heat.  I love the winter because I can add layers.  Summer … short of blinding people with my paleness and/or committing a crime against God and humanity by appearing immodestly clad in order to stay cool … not so much.

I already have my outfit planned out tomorrow.  My sister got me this cute flowy purple dress last year because she thought I needed more dresses in my wardrobe (and I do).  Yeah, wear that with my all-purpose wedges and we should be set.  Imma wear my retro swimsuit tomorrow afternoon so I can get an even bit of color on my shoulders.

All right, Imma eat something.  I am not particularly hungry but since I shan’t be eating until after Mass tomorrow, I usually eat something so I don’t get a bad headache during Mass.  Yeah, I follow the old-school “no food after midnight” rule.  It’s just how I roll.  I have done this since grade school.  It was one of my first more traditional practices that I picked up.

Imma post something more coherent later on after I have supped and watched some Mother Angelica.  I love that nun.  I love her sense of humor.  I love her Sicilian-ness.  I love her absolute faith, trust in, and love for God.  I can only hope to have something like her faith.  When I was younger, I learned more from her than I did from my religion classes.  Too much happeh-clappeh and not enough Truth.

All right.  I will be back in a bit.

-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Random Fun-ness and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to It’s Sloth Saturday!

  1. from http://8kidsandabusiness.wordpress.com Definitely random! I went to Mass this morning. The church has air conditioning. Does your church have air conditioning? If it does, you wouldn’t have felt so warm, at least for a little while. You probably should have gone to Mass, even if just for the air conditioning ( if they have it)

    • Ms. Allie says:

      Yeah, SJA has AC but the walk would not have been good with my body’s inability to process the heat appropriately. I have come home exhausted from the heat. The walk is fine. It’s the heat that just sucks the life out of me.

What do you think?

