In light of today’s awesome-ness …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in aeternum! Amen.

It behooves me to share this amazing video that was posted by the Catholic News Service to mark the fifth anniversary of Summorum Pontificum:

I think His Eminence presents a very good explanation of the TLM, its appeal, how it is an integral part of the organic development of the liturgy, and that persons who love it are “not stuck in the past” but rather devoted to a very important part of the Church’s liturgical patrimony.  Oh, and the fact that that vast majority of the saints attended the TLM and look at them … they are in Heaven … who are we to say that it’s not “good enough” for us “more sophisticated” persons (and yet our culture is more mired in sin, falsehood, and death than ever … go figure).  Of course, I am not part of that group that thinks that.

And you know, just because I really think it’s cool to watch this and I think the music is pretty, here is a demonstration of how you can transform a modern free-standing altar into a lovely high altar, brought to you by the wonderful Priestly Fraternity of Saint Peter (FSSP):

I love those long candle-lighter-things. We don’t have those awesome tall candlesticks  at SJA anymore but whenever I would light candles, I would always use it. Mostly because then I did not have to ascend the steps of the altar to light the candles. Some of the kids picked up my routine (including lighting the altar candles first, then the ambo candles).

Also, gotta love all the genuflecting and reverent bowing! No bobbing heads here (that annoys me like nothing else).

Toward the end where (I think) the priest is adjusting things and stepping back to check reminds me of how I used to set up for Masses. My pastor could be delightfully particular about how things are and they always had to be just so. Hence how my obsessive compulsive tendencies can be used for the greater glory of God through the liturgy! 🙂 At least that is how we always justified it.

And just because I feel like it, another favorite of mine put out by some seminarians (now priests) from Saint Louis:

The “predictions” for the Church of the future are amusing.

Course are taught in Latin, Hebrew, and Greek, of course … of course! Zealous Jesuit … some things never change. *knowing lol* I love the aluminum foil maniple while baptizing giant atheist martian ants with a Holy Water Laser Cannon.

Also, I appreciate the use of the ferraiuolo (clerical cape in non-liturgical formal occasions). I think it should be used more often. Venerable Fulton Sheen wore it. That should be reason enough. You know, besides the fact that it looks epic.  Super Priest!

Venerable Fulton J. Sheen

He pulls off the ferraiuolo so wonderfully!

Remember, pray for our priests and seminarians everyday!

All right, I have to go be productive today.  I washed up and did my hair.  No makeup unless we are going out because my face is guaranteed to melt otherwise.  Staying on the first floor because the second floor always gets irresponsibly warm.  My room is actually one of the hottest in the house.  I also don’t want Aloysius (my laptop) to bake.  It isn’t good for him.

Have a great day!

-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Church Lady Stuff, Random Fun-ness, The priesthood, Trad Catholicism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to In light of today’s awesome-ness …

  1. from http://8kidsandabusiness.wordpress.com LOL! Billy O’Malley and his entire ordination class are going to end up with lung cancer if the Martians don’t get them first. The other 2 videos are really good in explaining the TLM and how to marry both forms of Mass. Thanks.

  2. catholic123 says:

    The TLM is so beautiful!! Let us pray that they become more widely available. The closest one in my area is more than 5 hours away.

What do you think?

