This heat is affecting my mind! (Today’s a special day!)

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in aeternum! Amen.

Saturday of the Thirteenth Week of Ordinary Time (Memorial of the Blessed Virgin Mary)

I woke up about thrice today. Once at about three o’clock in the morning. Then at five o’clock. And then again at about 6:30. The heat does that to me.

So I was putzing on Facebook and a few of my friends are getting happy about the anniversary of Summorum Pontificum and I was all, “That can’t be right, it wasn’t promulgated until the Feast of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross in September.”

Then my angel dropped this into my heat-warped mind, “Allie, the document was released today. DUH!”

Then it hit me …

“OH YEAH!!!! YAY!!!!!”

With that in mind …

Click the graphic for a Latin-English translation of the Apostolic Letter

I remember when I was in college, some of my more traditional-leaning friends and I were beaten down with gids about this.  Sure we were not at school when it was released but we were beside ourselves.  Nothing is more amusing than a bunch of traddy college students writing giddy TLM-themed messages on each other’s walls.  My more progressive friends probably thought we were off our rocker.  Not that they didn’t think that already.

That was probably want compelled me to get my first mantilla (every traddy Catholic lady ought to have one … just sayin’).  I can still remember going to the Angelus across from Saint Isidore’s Church (the cool traditional Polish parish with a perpetual adoration chapel that my friends and I attended instead of the borderline invalid/blatantly illicit Masses on campus) and trying on the mantillas while they were still in their plastic wrapping (it’s unsanitary to put them on one’s head before making the purchase).  I remember the lady who ran the place (we were regulars) being amused and showing us the different ones they had (yes, this place had mantillas in stock before the motu proprio even came out …. that place was that awesome).  My first mantilla was a black lace one that rested just on my shoulders.  I later got a powder blue one.  Now I have my lovely fancy cream-colored mantilla that drapes nicely to below my shoulders.

I remember all the caterwauling that came out of the more progressive-leaning Catholics (though there is really only one kind of Catholic … practicing Catholic *wink*) saying that this was the Holy Father’s way of “turning back the clock” on Vatican II.

What a load of ignorant malarcky.

Number one, these are the people who tend to have never actually read what the Council actually proclaimed and rely on those theologians with an agenda for their beliefs on what the Council said.

Number two, the TLM is the Mass that most of our dear patrons heard.  When Saint Maria Goretti went to Mass, it was the TLM.  When Saint Aloysius went to Mass, it was the TLM.  When Saint Joan of Arc went to Mass, it was the TLM.  When Blessed Pope John Paul II went to Mass in the first half of his life, it was the TLM.  The only Mass Blessed Pope John XXIII knew was the TLM.

These saints were sustained with the TLM.  They derived their strength and received grace through the TLM.  If it was “good enough” (the Mass is an effable gift from God Himself), who are we to say that suddenly it’s not good enough or that it’s wrong to have a love for and devotion to it because the Novus Ordo Missae was promulgated in 1970?

Summorum Pontificum was not written by the Holy Father to “turn back the clock” … especially since when one attends Mass one is participating in something that occurs outside of time … the Eternal Sacrifice of Christ on the Cross FTW.  Our dear Holy Father wrote the motu proprio to teach the faithful about the beauty of the TLM and to aid those members of the faithful (yours truly included) who have a special love for and devotion to the TLM.

For years, the TLM suddenly disappeared from the lives of Catholics.  It was almost as if it never was, which we all know is utter falsehood.  TLMs would be said clandestinely by priests who still wanted to offer it.  The faithful would search all over for those priests so they could attend a TLM.

That (among other reasons) was why some traditionalist Catholic clerics came together and formed the Society of Saint Pius X, though they also had some issues with the doctrine proclaimed by the Council, which makes no sense to me because the Council did not proclaim any new teaching, it just put the Church’s teaching in the context of the modern world without changing it.  Of course, then we could get into a debate about whether or not that was the Church succumbing to the very modernism that the Church used to mandate her clerics take an oath against but that’s another post.

And I am not condoning what they or other groups like them have done or teach.  Just sayin’.

Then in 1988 Pope John Paul II released his own motu proprioEcclesia Dei.  It was written in reaction to the unapproved consecration of bishops by the Society of Saint Pius X (SSPX) thus declaring their excommunication because of their open act of disobedience to the Roman Pontiff.

Besides that, JPII included in his motu proprio that there must be respect shown to persons and groups who have an affinity for and devotion to the Traditional Latin Mass.  He also established the Pontifical Commission Ecclesia Dei to help those who loved the TLM and other aspects of the liturgical patrimony of the Church while desiring to remain in union with the Successor of Saint Peter (aka the Pope).

Before Summorum Pontificum, in order for a priest to offer the TLM, he had to have the permission of his bishop.  Of course, that would mean that the offering of the TLM was contingent on the attitude of the bishop toward the TLM.  Some were lucky to have a bishop who either had a love for the TLM or did not mind it being offered in his diocese.  Others had to struggle with bishops who had, for some reason, a distaste for the TLM and would not allow it.

Detroit was blessed to have a few places that offered the TLM (then called an “Indult Mass” because it was part of the indult that allowed it to be offered).  One place that began to offer it before the promulgation of Summorum Pontficum was and is Saint Josaphat’s in Detroit.  I actually have a Detroit Free Press article describing the preparations the parish was undertaking to offer the TLM regularly including finding priests who could offer it and all the nifty liturgical accoutrements needed.

So yeah, today is the fifth anniversary of the release of Summorum Pontificum.  Yes, I know it did not go into effect until 14 September 2007 but still … YAY!!!  I am sure once that day comes in a couple months, there will be much celebration.  I know I will be very happy!  Maybe my traddy college friends and I can reunite for a TLM (some have never been to Detroit so maybe I can sweet-talk them into coming to Saint Josaphat’s or something) to celebrate.

Watching the morning news and seeing the excessive heat advisory maps makes me sad.  I reallllllllllly hope we get some realllllllllllly niiiiiiiiiice thunderstorms out of this.

I just want this heat wave to end soon because it is sucking the life out of me.  It’s like Kryptonite.  Srsly.  That and I don’t like walking outside after having just done my hair and makeup (and I don’t even wear that much  … just a light layer of powder and such) and feeling my face melt.  I know, first world problems, right?  Some people have much bigger issues like finding a place to live and having food to eat and I am moaning about having a melty face?  Yeah, first world problem.  Quit your β!+¢#ing, Allie.  Offer it up.  lol

Have a great day, everyone!

-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Papism, Trad Catholicism and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

