GRE: The Aftermath

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in aeternum! Amen.

Memorial of Blessed (soon-to-be-Saint) Kateri Tekakwitha, Virgin

I took the GRE today. It went well. Better than I anticipated. Yay! My unofficial scores came out nicely. Waiting to get the official scores and the score on the analytical writing section that an actual human being checks (the rest of it is done on the computer and scored as I go along).

So, I have to keep my promise (with an added bonus because I am so pleased with things):

By my prodigious boy Mozart.

BTW, the words (Latin and English) are here.

This one is longer so Imma just put a link to it here since I thought it sounded too pretty to not include.

And I would be remiss if I didn’t include a beautifully traddy rendition of it done by none other than the FSSP Schola.

And just because I love Mama Mary and since it’s Saturday (sorry, Beata Kateri, the Theotokos before all other saints in mah book) …

I love watching the Pope pray the prayer with the choir.

I can never pick which version I like more. I think Salves are like M&Ms, you have moods.

And for good measure, and a bit of whimsy (ignoring the fact for a nanosecond that the star is, shall I say, virulently the opposite of a proper religious):

I couldn’t resist. I wish I had a veil as a postulant. It’s always sad when you see habits more on television than you do in reality (though that is changing, thank the Lord).

So I took that blessed thing.  And here is some advice for all you personages who will ever take the GRE: they mean bid-ness.  You could not have anything on you save your ID, the scratch paper they provided, and the pencils they provided.  Everything else gets locked up on a locker to which you are given the key.  Before you go into the actual room in which you are take the test, you have your picture taken, and you get wanded for contraband.  Then, when you go to your assigned seat, you have security cameras watching your every movement and the proctors are watching you through plate glass.  Did I mention the promise of confidentiality that I had to copy in cursive and sign before anything happened?

It’s sad when people have lost so much of their integrity that these kinds of things need to be done to keep things fair.

I liked the process.  I did it at my own pace.  It was still timed but I didn’t have to wait until the time period was up and I didn’t have to listen to the proctor drolly read the script they are given about testing regulations.

Being able to go at my own pace also meant that I could choose to take the breaks (most are just 60 seconds between sections with a ten minute one in the middle) but, being the ambitious boss that I am, I went through that baby.  I cut an hour off my time with that.  And I took my time.

You know when you were in school and you were reticent to be the first one to turn in your test first for fear of it being “jinxed” or something like that (admit it, a good chunk of you all did it); well, it continues into adulthood.

After I designated SHMS as the sole recipient of my official scores, I completed the test and the computer went back to its sleep mode.

Afraid to look around, I raised my hand to indicate that I was done.

One of the proctors (both were nice young women), led me out of the room, I kept my eyes downcast a la Saint Aloysius, and walked out of the testing center.  I signed more papers proving that I was, in fact. who I am and that I did, in fact, complete this test being the same person who came in at the beginning of the testing period.

I walk out after calling my father to tell him I was ready (he was a half hour away so I had time to kill) and soon after a few others leave.

It was like a chain reaction: I finished my test early and had the moxie to raise my hand, then suddenly, “Say, I think I’m done here too.”, and out they came … trickling out.  Some with looks of relief on their face, others with, “I think  drink is in order.”

I wasn’t feeling the acute exhaustion from a few hours of testing and typing, typing and testing until I got in the car.  Suddenly, I was starving.  I needed non-sustenance sustenance.  My father stopped for gas and I ran into the store and grabbed some of those little chocolate-covered donuts.  I may have inhaled those things.  I forgot how energy-sucking exams like that can be.  lol

We were spending the afternoon and evening at my aunt and uncles so after I did a bit of recovering while watching “Transformers” with my nephew, I put on my retro swimsuit that I had packed before I left for the test and went for a swim.

That felt sooooooo good.  I did a few laps and just swam like a fish.  For someone who couldn’t swim until she was a teenager, I do pretty well for myself.  Why didn’t I learn until later in life?  Because when I was born, God deigned it fit that I have a deformed ear drum in my left ear that gave my infant-self (and throughout much of childhood) horrendous ear infections.  They found out about it soon after I was born because suddenly I had this wicked fever and I was always crying.  At least that’s what I remember my mother telling me.

Well, that deformity (though I don’t understand that word since God makes no mistakes … it’s more of a physical quirk) was the cause of my years of severe ear infections and ear aches.  I am 80 percent deaf in my left ear and it gets worse at certain times such as when the weather is changing and when I am sick.  At those times, I cannot hear a thing out of my left ear and sometimes it affects my right ear.  Oh, and if you try to talk to me from behind or in a crowded room, don’t count on me hearing you unless, in the former situation, you are being a bit loud.  Though I can lip-read.  Yeah, it makes me self-conscious sometimes to keep asking people to repeat themselves.  I used to get made fun of.  My favorite “insult”: “Beethoven” but he was a musical genius so w/e.

I cannot get water into my ears but being the young child I was I did anyway and when I did, it hurt like heck.  Hence my not learning how to swim until later in life.  I can’t go underwater which also means I cannot dive or anything like that.  When I wash my hair or take a shower, I must be sure to not have my head in such a way that water will get in them.  Yeah.  It’s been fun.

One perk, when I had one of my surgeries in fifth grade, they cut my ear from my head and pulled my face forward.  They took a piece of jaw muscle and did what they could to reconstruct my ear drum.  Besides getting a mini-facelift at 9 years old, I have a wicked scar on the back of my left ear that has gone away a bit but I will always have a bit of it.    I thought it was cool.  Except for the naaaasty amoxicillin I had to take that smelled like death.

Another perk: I can lip-read.  It really comes in handy when you are at the bar drinking your fifth Shirley Temple, surrounded by loud and perhaps a wee-bit “spirited” persons, and reallllllly want to play Jeopardy!.  When I am with family and they want to know what an answer is, they ask me to read lips to see if they got it right.  It used to really help when I was a Master of Ceremonies and the priest wanted something and the standard hand gestures did not cut it.

/quasi-related non sequitur.

I am anxious to see my official scores and to see how I did on my analytical writing section.  Relatively speaking considering that that section had only two parts and each required an essay that included things such as analysis of the logic of a statement and the presentation of a cohesive opinion on a presented issue that had to be completed within a half an hour each, that took me the longest amount of time.  Thank God it was at the beginning.

So yeah, now that is off my list.  Now, I just have a few little things that need tying up and I need to work on the big kahuna: that blessed road test.  My goal is to have it or be taking the road test around 15 August so I can get more experience and build confidence (something I lack) so I can get myself to class.

Random thought: my dream job for grad school: working at the library at the seminary.  I had friends who worked the library at AQ and they loved it.  I hope the seminary’s library has that smell of old books or at least a section that had that.  I knew where those sections were in the AQ library.  The best ones were the old Theology texts (old Summa Theologica smell ethereal) on the second floor.

All right, it’s past midnight and I am exhausted.

Here is another “Sister Act” song because I like this song and it so right for the topic of following Christ.  lol

Have a nice night!

-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Musings, Our Lady and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

