Heading into the home stretch …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in aeternum! Amen.

Sacred Heart Logo

Friday of the Sixteenth Week of Ordinary Time

“Now it is time to really put the rubber to the road, Ms. Allie.”  I just called SHMS to confirm receipt of my transcripts and one of my recommendations.  They got both but are yet to get my GRE scores which she said was all right because they can take a while.  All that matters is the fact that I took the test and the scores are coming.

Knowing I am going to have to register for classes soon and since one of my grants needs to have my classes listed on the form I fill out, I asked if, as a personage with a Theology degree, I had any pre-requisites to fulfill before I can really jump in and get my nerd on.

She said she wasn’t sure but that she would call me later on and let me know.

“Later on” came and she called me with the verdict.

I can start on my grad courses immediately since I have no need for any stinking pre-reqs!

Laudetur Iesus Christus!

Which helps because over the span of what is estimated to be two and a half years going full-time and spending one term/semester on my thesis, I will have to complete 40 credit hours in order to get my degree and the gown with the wizard sleeves.  26 for the core, 10 for my concentration (oh geez, what to pick!??!?!), and 4 for my thesis.

BTW, full-time is at least nine credit hours, which means excluding my thesis which is four hours, I will have to take about 3 or 4 classes a semester.  Not bad.  Time for a new adventure, God willing.

Over the span of those two years (and at this year’s rates … they always go up), it will run me about $22,000 smackers (totally worth it) but that’s sans the anticipated 30 percent grant from the AOD (hear me, God, that I get that) and any other grants I can get.  I want to keep loans to a minimum because I am still paying for college.  “Only” about $25/30k, I know people with much more than I.  I just don’t really want to add more to that amount than I need.  Even if I have to work my arse off though focusing on school is the ideal and the standard for moi.

So let’s go through the checklist of what I gotta do:

-2 recommendation forms: one done, one pending.
Admissions Essay: I was given a reprieve on the length (it’s more to see how I write than anything) but I shall have that done this weekend and in her inbox by Tuesday.
Fisherman’s Fund essay: pending and will complete ASAP once other things have been ironed out that come with it.
-GRE: taken and scores sent
-College transcripts: requested and received
Financial Aid stuff: blech. That is all.
Take and pass my driving test: pending (my goal is to have that pretty much done by the middle of August … I am ambitious)

Relatively speaking, it’s not that much considering how much was on that list not too long ago.  Imma still get all anxious about it.  Hence the 9 novenas I am doing.  They have helped me immensely and I hope that the grace will continue to flow from them and my intentions will be answered.

What am I looking forward to?

This …

Studying is fun!

Except exchange the cup of coffee for a Father Z mug filled with Vernors with a case waiting in the fridge that I have ever so conveniently placed near my desk.

No, I am not insane.  I love studying!  It’s going to be soooooooooo hard to pick one concentration for my degree!  Holy Mother Church … literally!  There is no definitive list but the woman I have been talking to said to just work on the core classes and use that time to discern what the Lord wants me to concentrate on.

Once I pick my concentration, then I will have to think about this …

PhD Comic01

PhDComic02

and this ..

Calvin and Hobbes

Sounds like my Forensics Extemp and Impromptu speeches when I had no idea what to say! It worked. I would place!

Which I am also looking forward to … very much.  Again, I am a nerd.  Don’t judge me.

And I promise I shan’t ever do this or anything like it …

Abuse of technology

That’s not how you use it, mulier!
Egregious abuse of technology. I am scandalized and disgusted!

Computers deserve respect too!

A few other things I am looking forward to though pertaining more to having my license than grad school:

TLM

This.

TLM01

And this.

and thus finally being able to wear …

Mantilla

This.
I srsly ❤ my mantilla.

Outside of private prayer at home and when I go to certain sacerdoti for Confession.  That has really been a cross for me but it’s a rather “easy” cross relatively speaking.  I am looking forward to being able to wear it more regularly and not have to worry about “retribution” for wearing it.

It’s a piece of lace, people.  Get over it.  The Church didn’t start in 1965.  It started from the opened side of Christ on the Cross.

I am also looking forward to getting a Garmin (my family agrees that it would be money well-spent) and picking out what voice I want to give me directions.  I wish they had a Pope Benedict voice.  Imagine him giving me directions to Saint Josaphat’s and then afterward to McDonald’s for dollar apple pies and a double quarter-pounder with cheese.  I can hear thick Bavarian accent admonishing me to turn right NOW!  I can hear him rerouting me and advising me against going this way because there is a backup on this particular route that will make me late for the Missa Cantata I am headed for and it is soooo rude to be late.

Papal facepalm

She’s never gonna make it at this rate.

*sigh*

I am looking forward to driving in my car, listening to my music, on my iPod.  Heck, I’ll listen to Latin Divine Office as it’s piped through my sound system on my way to SHMS in the morning.  If I can’t make it to SJA for morning Mass, maybe I can go at the seminary.  I just don’t want to drop my daily Mass habit if I can help it.

BTW, through the providence of God, I have a car waiting for me!  And it’s red!  I have to figure out what kind of license plate frame I want.  Maybe Father Z has some from which to choose.  I know my mini Infant of Prague is going on the dash.  It’s going to be a tastefully and trad-ily appointed Papist-mobile!  Mozart on the system.  Oh yes.

I just have to stick to my guns and trust in the Lord that He will give me the grace to complete what I need to complete.  I need to keep increasing my confidence without getting overly cocky.  If you could pray, that would be great and it would be much much much appreciated!

Have to go get ready.  It’s storming out but apparently we’re going over to the aunt and uncle’s for dinner and swimming since the cousin is in from Georgia.  Maybe the storm will let up for a bit because I really want to go for a swim.

I think I heard something about having steak for dinner.  It’s Friday.  Oh geez.  Well, if all else fails, I can transfer the penance to tomorrow or something.  God will provide.  He always does.

Have a nice evening!

-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Grad school, Prayer Requests, Random Fun-ness, Trad Catholicism and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

