So much going on, so little time (oh, and pray for the Pope)

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in aeternum! Amen.

You know, I was going to write about three or four times in the last week but things got kinda busy.  I know, woe is me but srsly there have been some rather serious things going on that kept me from blogging.  I apologize if the three of you who read this have noticed a bit of a dearth in blogging, it’s just been crazy and whenever I have written something , I look over it and find it utterly blech and thus, in an act of charity, spare you the ignominy of reading my meandering mind’s musings.

Before I get into my post, let’s take a moment to pray for our dear Holy Father who is currently in Lebanon.  For those under a rock or who try to avoid the news to minimize the neuroses that results from all the evil in the world, there’s been a lot of bad schtuff going down ’round dere.  American embassies (sovereign soil) have been ransacked by mobs, flags descrated (as the sister of a former sailor that really gets me), and most horribly, lives have been taken (nvm the fact that the American Ambassador to Syria had been working his hide off to help the people and what do some of them do? Drag him out of his home and beat him to death … nice.).

So yeah, and it’s spread to Lebanon, I read this afternoon that there have been possibly violent protests therein against the Pope coming to the country.

Let’s pray a Saint Michael prayer (Saint Michael is traditionally thought to be the guardian angel of the Holy Father and the Church) for him and then the traditional prayer for the Pope:

Latin first:

Sancte Michael Archangele,
defende nos in proelio;
contra nequitiam et insidias diaboli esto praesidium.
Imperet illi Deus, supplices deprecamur:
tuque, Princeps militiae Caelestis,
satanam aliosque spiritus malignos,
qui ad perditionem animarum pervagantur in mundo,
divina virtute in infernum detrude.
Amen.

English:

Saint Michael the Archangel,
defend us in battle;
be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray:
and do thou, O Prince of the heavenly host,
by the power of God,
thrust into hell Satan and all the evil spirits
who prowl about the world seeking the ruin of souls.
Amen

Now the prayer for the Holy Father:

V. Oremus pro Pontifice nostro Benedicto.

R. Dominus conservet eum, et vivificet eum, et beatum faciat
eum in terra, et non tradat eum in animam inimicorum eius.
[Ps 40:3]

Pater Noster…, Ave Maria….

Deus, omnium fidelium pastor et rector, famulum tuum
Benedictum, quem pastorem Ecclesiae tuae praeesse voluisti,
propitius respice: da ei, quaesumus, verbo et exemplo,
quibus praeest, proficere: ut ad vitam, una cum grege sibi
credito, perveniat sempiternam. Per Christum, Dominum
nostrum. Amen.

V. Let us pray for Benedict, our Pope.

R. May the Lord preserve him, and give him life, and make
him blessed upon the earth, and deliver him not up to the
will of his enemies. [Ps 40:3]

Our Father, Hail Mary.

O God, Shepherd and Ruler of all Thy faithful people, look
mercifully upon Thy servant Benedict, whom Thou hast chosen
as shepherd to preside over Thy Church. Grant him, we
beseech Thee, that by his word and example, he may edify
those over whom he hath charge, so that together with the
flock committed to him, may he attain everlasting life.
Through Christ our Lord. Amen.

I wanted to write something for the Feast (all right, Memorial) of the Most Holy Name of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  I wanted to write something for 9-11 (IDK what but something).  And there was another point where I wanted to write something else.  It must not have been “in the cards.”

This weekend a very close family member was in the hospital so the weekend was pretty well occupied with that.  One perk was that since I spent a lot of time at the hospital, I got to explore the chapel (it’s a Catholic hospital that was founded by sisters in the 1950s).  I can’t attest to the authentic Catholicity of some of the practices of the hospital (I have done some theological work/research for my pastor pertaining to the hospital that was on something rather iffy but more “New Age” iffy rather than “violating the dignity of human life” iffy).

The chapel was built at a good time when though the Council was wrapping up and we were beginning to see some of the early hijackings of said Council in the form of wreckovated churches and perverted (as in twisted) theology, it had not taken such a foothold yet (that came later).  The chapel still has an altar rail, side altars, stained glass windows that look like something, pews with kneelers (gasp), statues, etc.  I find it hard to pray in more sterile churches.  Man is a very sensual being, he needs to use his senses to further his relationship with God (hence why being Catholic is amazing with all the smells, bells, Latin, and lace).

I got to go to the chapel, Breviary in one hand, and sachet with my mantilla in the other.  Yep, I wore my veil.  It was nice.

I also did a bit of wandering around the chapel.  I have a thing about crossing altar rails so I kept that to a minimum.  I did want to get a close look at the side altars (Mary and Joseph) so I did cross into the Holy of Holies for a moment.  I walked around admiring the mosaic Stations, the marble statuary, and the stained glass windows.

My heart was so happy when I saw in stained glass window the Infant of Prague.  You have no idea.

My family member is doing well.  He has some things to which he must attend but God will provide.  He always does.  It wasn’t fun.  You know it’s serious when Allie misses Mass on Sunday.  Luckily, the pastor said I was all right.  He knows my scrupulous tendencies.

OH!  So on Wednesday it was the Feast (Memorial really) of the Most Holy Name of the Blessed Virgin Mary.  I went to Mass as usual.  Didn’t hear a single Marian hymn.  I was starting to become despondent.  What I wouldn’t do to hear a Marian hymn.  I started to mentally hum “O Sanctissima” in my head (I do that when the Haugen-Daas is getting to me … it often does) when at the end of Mass (the Recessional or whatev it’s called now) the hymn was that very Marian song.


Um, liek that’s mah fav-or-ite Marian hymn next to a well-sung Salve Regina.

Except for one thing.  We officially only sang the first line in Latin.

When we got to the second verse we were to begin with English once again #TradCatholicProblems.  *angst muffins of “LATIN IS THE MOTHER TONGUE OF HOLY MOTHER CHURCH, Y’ALL, GET WIT’IT!”

*/mini-rant

I was pleasantly surprised by the number of people who just ignored the instruction on English and continued to do the Latin.  Vox populi, indeed!  The peoplez want teh Latin … give it to them!  They want sacrality.  Not banality!

/another mini-rant

So you can bet your bottom dollar I was singing the rest of the song in Latin.  Besides, the English translations, if not extraordinarily well-done, run the risk of sounding overly awkward and verbally bloated thus taking away from the beauty of the hymn.

The Latin was refreshing because at my parish, Latin is a rarity which I find incredibly sad.  We’ll sing a hymn in Spanish sooner than in the Church own mother tongue.  And don’t anyone give me the overdone and bull crap excuse that “Latin’s too hard” or “They can’t learn it.”

Holy crap.  If young boys can learn the Mass responses of the TLM entirely in Latin, I am quite sure that if you give the people the text and a few once-overs, they will get it and probably like it.  Quit patronizing the people.  Quit treating them like they are puerile morons who are incapable of going outside their bubbles of banal vernacular hymns.  Not all vernacular hymns are banal but they do exist.

But yeah, I haven’t been posting because things have been busy.  I have been dealing with a lot of late and while I have wanted to post, it has just kinda fallen by the wayside.  Imma write something on today’s feast (I know it’s almost done but … I was busy) after I post this so the next post will (hopefully) make more sense and be a bit more cogent than these tangential things.

Stay tuned.  Please keep praying for the Pope.  He’s kinda in the middle of a region that is one giant powder keg.  Talk about trusting in Divine Providence.  Papa Bene is an example of just that very thing.

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Musings, Random Fun-ness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

