Michael-what? (or How I probably made Saint Michael *facepalm*)

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in aeternum! Amen.

Saint Matthew

Feast of Saint Matthew, Apostle and Evangelist

God has His ways of reminding me that without Him, I would be a mess (’cause it’s true, I would be the most un-hot hot mess).  You know that Latin Mass I said I had a chance to attend?  Well, apparently it was tonight.  *facepalm*  Needless to say, I didn’t go.  I should really pay attention more. *sad panda*

Which is really a good thing in a way because I have to be up wicked early tomorrow morning for the special Mass with the Archbishop (which I am serving!  What?! What?!) and proceeding ProLife Vigil in front of two abortion clinics.  If I would have gone to the Mass, I would not be home until late in the evening.  When I have to be up a few hours later to serve Mass with the Archbishop of Detroit and then pray a 20 decade Rosary, it is best that I get a few extra hours of sleep.

I threw together an improvised meatless din-din.  I found some spinach in the fridge and decided I wanted to use that.  Grabbed the bottle of extra virgin olive oil, the kosher salt, the pepper mill, some of my favorite Italian herbs (rosemary is my very favorite), and garlic (couldn’t find cloves but we had some fresh-minced so I worked with that) and got to it.

When I was in the convent, we had to cook a lot on our own and we all had our assigned week.  Before I entered the convent, I was quite spoiled because my mother and sister were the cooks in the family.  I didn’t think I inherited that.

That changed in the convent.  Did it ever.  But I couldn’t go all out because of the whole “simplicity” thing (and a rather picky sister in the house) but most times it is the simple things that taste the best because it’s just intrinsically good.  You don’t need to do a thorough academic flavor analysis to know that blanched fresh green beans quickly sauteed in garlic-infused olive oil with salt, pepper, herbs, and lemon will taste good.  I also made a mean turkey dinner with homemade stuffing (my mother’s own recipe) and a yummy banana nut bread of deliciousness (some of the sisters really liked it).

That’s all provided you don’t burn the convent down like I almost did.  Padawan mistake: Always make sure your green beans are well-dried before putting them in pan of hot oil.  I singed the skin on my hand and may have let one swear word fly but Deo gratias the sisters’ angels put earmuffs over their ears when it went flying because they didn’t hear it.  All the other times, I pulled it off without the gates of Hell opening on the stove so I think that’s all right to mess up once.

Today, I prepared the spinach with the aformentioned ingredients.  Totally forgot how much spinach cooks down.  I needed more to eat if I wasn’t going to be eating until tomorrow afternoon’s reception following Benediction.  So I did what any good Italian girl would do: I got out a box of pasta (I have yet to learn how to make pasta) and made that.  If you don’t want your pasta to stick after draining (I had to keep my eye on the spinach … more like “make sure the olive oil doesn’t flare up on me), drizzle it with olive oil and mix well and cover until ready to use.

Once I got the spinach the way I wanted it: still bright green and having picked up the flavor of the other schtuff I had in the pan with it, I mixed it with the pasta and tossed it.  Added a bit more lemon  and mangiamo!

I needed something penitential because my din-din was so good that it couldn’t count as a penance so I went into the fridge and grabbed the last of a rather … blech … six pack of beer I had gotten not too long ago that I thought was  … blech.

Nothing like a low carb dinner, eh?  Oh well, I do a lot of walking.  It’s not like I am sedentary.  lol

Lesson learned: When all else fails, tie on your polka dot apron, turn up da music, and just see what’s in the fridge and go from there.  Imma do the dishes when I get home tomorrow.  It will let the pans soak thoroughly so I don’t have to scrub too much.  One perk to not having the parentals around: I can do the dishes when I want to.  lol

Anywho …

I am so disappointed in myself.  I am punching in dates in my calendar when I realize that Michaelmas is coming up!

And Saint Michael is one of my principal patrons.  PATRONAGE FAIL.

29 September is the Feast of the Archangels Michael, Gabriel, and Raphael.  In the Extraordinary Form (aka before the reform of the General Roman Calendar in about 1970), each of the angels had their own day.  Why the Church saw it fit to change that, I know not.  Don’t you think they deserve their own day?  I mean, these angels don’t just schlep around.

Saint Michael

Saint Michael’s feast day in the EF is 29 September

Saint Michael threw Satan into Hell (thank you).  He is also the defender of the Church and her children against evil and temptation.  It is also a pious belief that he is the guardian angel of the Pope.  I❤ Saint Michael.

Saint Gabriel

Saint Gabriel’s feast in the EF is 24 March (the day before the Annunciation of Our Lord).

Saint Gabriel appeared to Mary telling her she was going to be the Mother of God (Theotokos).  He also appeared to Zechariah telling him his wife Elizabeth was going to have a child, John the Baptist (he didn’t believe him and thus the angel rendered him mute until he truly believed).  He also appeared to Joseph and told him to take Mary as his wife though she was with child (the Child is the Son of God, BeeTeeDubs) and later to flee to Egypt when Herod when on his killing rampage of jealousy (the Holy Innocents).  He is my sister’s confirmation saint. (I wasn’t allowed to pick a male name otherwise I would have picked Saints Michael or Aloysius but I love Saint Therese too).

Saint Raphael

Saint Raphael’s feast in the EF is 24 October

Saint Raphael went with Tobiah on his journey, found him a wife, and healed his father Tobit of his blindness (“Raphael” does mean “medicine of God” after all).  One of my friends met her soon-to-be husband (she’s getting married tomorrow … couldn’t get to her wedding) after she prayed to Saint Raphael for a good man to marry.

With all of that in mind and considering the fact that I LURVE Saint Michael and all the archangels (though Michael is my angelic homeboy after my guardian angel … he needs to be paid extra (money in heaven … HERESY!) for dealing with my dense self), I hope to post more stuff in the coming days about the angels.  Soon after Michaelmas is the feast of Saint Therese of Lisieux (the Little Flower) on 1 October.  Saint Therese is my confirmation patroness (I picked her after my aunt who died before I was born, she was in high school when she died).  On 2 October, we celebrate the Feast of the Guardian Angels.

We have a lot of cool feast days coming up.  Some of my favorite feasts that are not specifically focused on Our Lord and Our Lady (though all real Catholic devotion ends with love and adoration of Christ/God).

All right, I have to clean up my mess, get ready for bed, pray Vespers and Compline, and then hit the sack.  I have to be up early for Mass!  YAY!

Oh, and I was wondering how I was going to get to the ProLife Rosary vigil so I asked  the Infant of Prague, “If You want me to go to the vigil outside the abortion clinics, You find me a way.”

Ask and ye shall receive indeed.  I was in the sacristy talking to our awesome Vietnamese associate (who always asks me if I am staying out of trouble … though he already knows the answer is “no.”) when a parishioner came in and started talking about the vigil.  She said she and her husband were going.  Considering the fact that I have known them since I was a very little girl (they were our neighbors across the street when I was born), I figured I could ask them if I could go with them.  She said “sure!”  Deus providebit, indeed.  My Infant got a kiss of gratitude once I got home from my Rosary walk home.

“Thank God ahead of time for all that He shall do for you!”

Have a nice night!

-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Church Lady Stuff, Devotion to the Angels, Guardian Angels, Liturgy and Prayer, Saint Michael, Saints, The Divine Child/Infant of Prague, Trad Catholicism and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

