Happy Michælmas!

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in æternum! Amen.

The Holy Archangels

Saint Michæl on the left holding his sword, Saint Raphæl in the center walking with Tobiah, and Saint Gabriel on the right with the lily symbolizing the BVM.

Feast of the Holy Archangels Michæl, Gabriel, and Raphæl (Michælmas)

Yes, today is one of my very favorite feast days that is not directly linked to Our Lord or Our Lady.  Though I am not named after any of them, I kinda treat it like a Name Day, such is my love and devotion to the angels (especially Saint Michæl) My other favorites are Saint Aloysius’ Day on 21 June, Saint Therese’s Day on 1 October, the Holy Guardian Angels on 2 October, and Saint Joan of Arc’s Day on 30 May.

Saint Michael

I would say this is rather self-explanatory.

While I make no secret that my very favorite of the archangels in Saint Michæl. I do love the other two as well.

Saint Michæl is easily the most badass (BA) (Pardon my French btw). Here he is faithfully serving God when Lucifer goes off on the deep end and shouts his “Non Serviam!” and leads a third of the Lord’s angels to openly rebel against Him. The tragic part is the fact that one of the aspects of angelic nature is the fact that angelic will is absolute. Once those angels willed to rebel, they could not go back on their decision. As soon as they rebelled, their nature changed from one of goodness to one of evil.  Lucifer was the highest of the Lord’s angels (a seraph) and his very name means “Light-bearer” so when he went crazy, it was a big deal.

Saint Michæl was probably all, “Oh no you didn’t.”  (Yeah, he totally talks like that.).  Being the faithful angel of the Lord that he was (some legends say that he was one of the lowest of the angels compared to Lucifer’s status as a seraph.) he joined in the struggle that ensued between the faithful and the unfaithful angels.

To counter the “Non serviam” of Lucifer, Michæl’s battle cry was “Quis ut Deus?” or “Who is like unto God?” which is actually what Michæl’s name means in Hebrew.  Michæl sought to counter Lucifer’s cry of open rebellion and pride with one of complete fidelity and humility.

So he is eventually locked in a struggle with Lucifer (this is where that aforementioned legend kicks in) and Michæl thrusts Lucifer down to Earth and into Hell along with the other fallen angels.  Lucifer is understandably upset (like I really empathize with that scuz-ball … ha.) and vows to destroy God’s most prized creation in retribution: humanity who is made in His Image and Likeness and (here’s the kicker) given wills that can be changed (this probably really rubbed Lucifer wrong because he saw himself as high above any other creature).

Having defeated Lucifer and having won the battle against him and all the demons, Michæl is made prince of the heavenly host.  So, if you follow one legend, he goes from lowly angel/archangel to the prince of the heavenly cohort, all because of his fidelity to God.  What can I say? It pays off.

Now he is invoked in many places and situations.  Many people bear his name or a form of his name in one way or another.  His prayer is even said after Mass at some parishes.

Pope Leo XIII had a vision of Hell and what the Evil One does to the Church and her children one day while at prayer/Mass.  He immediately stopped what he was doing and penned this prayer that used to be said in every Catholic church after Low Mass, this prayer along with 3 Ave’s, and a Salve Regina (I think) were known as the “Leonine Prayers.”  God only knows why they were suppressed in the 1960s or 1970s

Here is the prayer that Pope Leo XIII wrote for the Church:

Saint Michæl the Archangel,
defend us in battle.
Be our protection against the wickedness and snares of the devil.
May God rebuke him, we humbly pray;
and do thou, O Prince of the Heavenly Host –
by the Power of God –
thrust into hell, Satan and all the evil spirits,
who prowl about the world seeking the ruin of souls.
Amen.

Saint Michæl is the patron of many different “things”: soldiers, police officers, persons dealing with temptation and sin, just to name a few.

Saint Gabriel

Saint Gabriel holds a lily as a symbol of the Blessed Virgin Mary to whom he appeared to deliver the news of the Incarnation at the Annunciation of Our Lord.

Saint Gabriel (“Strength of God”) is the angel that appeared to Mary to tell her that she would be the Mother of God, the Theotokos (God-bearer).  He also appeared to Zechariah, the father of Saint John the Baptist, telling him that his wife Elizabeth (she who was thought barren) would bear him a son.  Zechariah had the cajones to doubt the angel’s words so BOOM! “Yousa gonna be mute until you straighten up and fly right!”

Needless to say, Zechariah did eventually when it came time to name the child born to Elizabeth and thus realize that what the angel had told him was totally true and God had really done this for them.

Gabriel is the angel who bore the message to Mary the fact that she would be the one to give birth to the Word Incarnate, the Son of God.  Imagine, Saint Gabriel was the first one to hear her “Fiat” where she submits herself totally to the Providence of God.  Saint Gabriel was the first one to witness the Holy Spirit overshadowing the Virgin Mary and thus conceiving the Christ in her womb.  He was there when the fulfillment of the Law and the Prophets began.

Saint Gabriel is the patron of: telecommunications (hence why today is National Telecommunications Day), diplomats, clergy, postal workers, and stamp collectors.

Here is a prayer to Saint Gabriel:

Saint Gabriel the Archangel, I venerate you as the Angel of the Incarnation, because God specially appointed you to bear the messages concerning the God-Man to Daniel, Zechariah, and the Blessed Virgin Mary. Give me a very tender and devoted love for the Incarnate Word and his Blessed Mother more like your own. I venerate you also as the “Strength from God” because you are the giver of God’s strength, consoler and comforter chosen to strengthen God’s faithful and teach them important truths. I ask for the grace of a special power of the will to strive for holiness of life.

Steady my resolutions; renew my courage; comfort and console me in the problems, trials and sufferings of daily living, as you consoled our Savior in his agony and Mary in her sorrows and Joseph in his trials. I put my confidence in you. Saint Gabriel I ask you especially for this favor: (mention your request). Through your earnest love for the Son of God made man and for his Blessed Mother I beg of you, intercede for me that my request may be granted, if it be God’s holy will. Pray for us, Saint Gabriel the Archangel, that we may be worthy of the promises of Christ. Amen.

Saint Raphael

The fish in Gabriel’s hand is the monster fish that attacked Tobias. Tobias subdued the fish and followed the angel’s instruction to make a medicine out of its heart, gall, and liver. That medicine was later used to heal Tobias’ father of blindness.

Saint Raphæl (“Medicine of God”) is the one who traveled with and protected Tobiah as found in the Book of Tobit in the Old Testament.  He also helped him find a wife and healed a man of his blindness (hence the “God’s remedy” thing).  He is probably the one of which the least is known.

Saint Raphæl is the patron of the blind, travelers, single persons, happy meetings, physicians, shepherds, and druggists.

On a personal note: One of my dear friends from college who was recently married said that she met her now-husband after praying to Saint Raphæl to send her the man the Lord wanted her to marry.  Boom!  There  he was not long after that!

Here is a prayer to Saint Raphael:

Glorious Archangel Saint Raphæl, great prince of the heavenly court, you are illustrious for your gifts of wisdom and grace. You are a guide of those who journey by land or sea or air, consoler of the afflicted, and refuge of sinners. I beg you, assist me in all my needs and in all the sufferings of this life, as once you helped the young Tobias on his travels. Because you are the “medicine of God,” I humbly pray you to heal the many infirmities of my soul and the ills that afflict my body. I especially ask of you the favor {mention your petition} and the great grace of purity of prepare me to be the temple of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Saint Raphæl of the glorious seven who stand before the throne of Him who lives and reigns, angel of health, the Lord has filled your hand with balm from heaven to soothe or cure our pains. Heal or cure the victim of disease, and guide our steps when doubtful of our ways.

We are so blessed to have such an expansive family of protectors and guides in Heaven, some of the highest of which are these three archangels.  I can tell you that Saint Michael has saved my behind in many ways.  He has been a constant companion with me and I know I can always call on him whenever I need his protection.  His icon is over my bed so I am reminded of his protection even as I sleep.

In a few days, we will be celebrating the Feast of the Holy Guardian Angels, another one of my favorite feast days!  I’ll cover that when we get to the feast day. But before that comes, try to develop a relationship with your angel, they were one of the first gifts the Lord gave you besides life.  Your angel has been watching over you since the moment you were conceived.  He has been at your side ever since and he will be with you when you die and are presented by them to the Lord for judgement.  He can be your best advocate and also your just accuser.  Develop a relationship with your angel.  Pray to him often.  Thank him for his fidelity to his duty of protecting you from spiritual and temporal evil.

All right, I am off to bed.  Mass in the morning.  I get to sleep in a smidge so this will be nice.

Nighty-night!

-Allie

-PS

Did you notice the abundance of “æ” ligatures?  I love those things.  I used to use them in the Theology papers when appropriate.  My professors always knew it was me before looking at the name on the paper by the use of ligatures when possible.  I always loved writing them in cursive in my notes and such because it was always such a fluid movement of the pen combining the “a” and the “e” into the lovely “æ.”  Yes, I have put thought into this.  lol  I have to go to bed.

Also, I don’t know what McDonald’s does to their Coke but I think they put some crack in it or something because I LOVE IT.  It’s so delightful!  And McDonald’s Coke tastes different from any other Coke.

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Devotion to the Angels, Guardian Angels, Liturgy and Prayer, Saint Michael, Saints and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

