I am a fiery disgusted Italian girl right now …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in æternum! Amen.

Thirty-First Sunday in Ordinary Time

After a bit of time away though really meaning to blog more, something has finally put me over the top and I just have to vent.  It’s been ticking me off for a while but today was the nail in the coffin.

Actually there are two things on which I want to rant/vent/discuss:

-The radical idea that women are concerned with more than just their reproductive system.
-The far-fetched concept that the Church is not in a bubble and what happens in the country affects her dramatically for good OR ill (aka: “Why some in Holy Mother Church need to grow a pair that is wider than a micrometer and not give a care what reaction it gets.”)

Starting with the former point:

I am sick to death of crazy feminists decrying Mitt Romney as a woman -hater and lauding Barack Obama as a “champion for women.”

BTW, my filter is disabled.

How the hell does that work?

Really.  Explain it to me logically.  Not based on glossy rhetoric.  I want cold, hard, objective facts,

All Obama talks about when he is addressing women is birth control and abortion access.  Like that was all women care about.  Like all women are are their reproductive systems.  Like all we are are talking private parts.  Like that’s all we think about: how we can kill our unborn children or keep them from being conceived FOR FREE (though nothing is truly free … taxes will just FLY SKY HIGH).

He’s all for women’s equality in the workplace.

What a blooming farce.  He doesn’t even pay the women in his administration on equal footing with their male counterparts.  The following video from Michelle Malkin (I love this woman because she gets it!) covers both this paragraph and the previous:

Michelle Malkin is right.  The liberal establishment treats women like meat.  They dangle contraception and abortion like a carrot expecting women to just take it like it was the only thing that matters.

The sad thing is that there are women who are taking the bait, lock, stock, and barrel.

If women really realized how much of a misogynist Obama and his ilk really are, they would flee from them like Plague.

Instead of ranting ad nauseam about this, I am going to direct you to an excellent post by Emily Stimpson at CatholicVote that is so appropriately called “Women, know your limits.”  The title comes from a Harry Enfield sketch that is embedded at the end of the post.  The sketch illustrates how the writer thinks Obama and his ilk really view women and how their minds work.

Because I find the sketch utterly amusing, Imma share it here to give you a taste of what she gets at in her post:

I do love little kittens, too. And I am going to be 25, have a college education, and I DO NOT HAVE A BEARD! SCORE!

Did I mention that I❤ British humor?  It’s so dry.  Like mine.  lol

The post also includes that gawd-awful ad put out by Obama and his cohorts that has some well-known writer/comedian/talking reproductive system that parallels voting for this misogynist to losing your virginity.

Some found this witty.  I, and other women who have functioning central nervous systems that think there are more important things than free birth control and abortion, found it utterly disgusting.

I am not posting it here because I find it utterly disgusting and I refuse to post such drivel here.  I can’t watch it without wanting to become more cynical about women but then I realize that there are women in this world like this dear young woman who know how to “think with their lady smarts and not their lady parts.” (there is hope!  ALLELUIA!)  You know, using your brain is a nice thing to do from time to time.

And she is right, the woman in the original ad does set women back a couple of decades.  Last time I checked, the original feminists (there were feminists before the bra-burning, contraception-downing ones of the 60s to today) wanted some basic things:

-The right to vote (check. Hello, 19th Amendment!)
-Equal pay for equal work (only makes sense.  Obama is not a proponent of that)
-Equal opportunities in the world for women as there are for men (without dissing being a stay-at-home mom)

Only in the last forty years or so has feminism been hijacked by extremist feminists who think that a woman’s worth is dictated by her ability to get birth control and the ability to kill her unborn children.  There are actually some feminists, like Betty Friedan,  who have decried the present movement because of its almost complete focus on abortion rights.

And every time I hear someone say that a man has no say in the abortion issue, I get sick because last time I checked, human beings do not reproduce asexually.  It takes two to make a third.  You need a man and a woman to get together for a child to be conceived.

Then we have another parody by a conservative comedian (yes, they exist) who happens to be male.  This one is also highly amusing to me.

What is the Constitution?  Are the Founding Fathers super mainstream?

I paid taxes through college because I worked when I was home so I don’t want to pay for other people’s “free crap.”  Full disclosure: I am on my parent’s health insurance but that is only because a.) I can’t afford it myself and b.) I work for the same business as my father so yeah …

And since I feel like making everyone feel my mental anguish:

The future of our country.  These are the kids who make me think that there needs to be a test one needs to take in order to vote.  Nothing too extreme.  Just something that will prove that people understand how the government works.  What the Constitution really says and what it really means.

Ben Franklin was our greatest president … the one with the book.  *facepalm*

You’re welcome.

And now the other issue:

“The far-fetched concept that the Church is not in a bubble and what happens in the country affects her dramatically for good OR ill.”

I am disgusted that some priests and other leadership in the Church have not the cajones to state the fact:

-NO CATHOLIC can in GOOD CONSCIENCE vote for a candidate who PROMOTES such INTRINSICALLY EVIL things such as ABORTION, CONTRACEPTION, THE REDEFINITION OF MARRIAGE and the VIOLATION OF RELIGIOUS LIBERTY.

-Any Catholic who votes for such a candidate puts their eternal salvation in question not because they vote for a certain party but rather because they are cooperating in the proliferation of evil.

Think I am being extreme?  Ha!

Here is a Catholic Vote post by Thomas Peters (aka the American Papist) where he talks about the statement made by Bishop Thomas Paprocki of Springfield, IL where he [the bishop] says:

A vote for a candidate who promotes actions or behaviors that are intrinsically evil and gravely sinful makes you morally complicit and places the eternal salvation of your own soul in serious jeopardy.

We need more clerics and leaders like this.  It’s almost like if they were to do so now, so close to the election, it would be too late.  They should have been saying this from the day Obama put his hand on the Bible (a religious text *gasp*) to take the Oath (like that meant anything to him).  The Church should have hit the ground running.  As soon as his win was announced, the Church should have been preparing for a full-frontal assault because, I hate to say this, but I saw it coming from a mile away.  I know, hindsight is always 20/20.

There are some (thank GOD) leaders in the Church who have the cajones to call things as they are: the Church and all persons of faith are under attack.  People who think that the Church is somehow immune from government attacks are deceiving themselves in the worst way possible.  Thank the Lord there are some clerics who are willing to put on their “big boy cassock” and state the reality and how we can approach it as persons of faith who love our Church and want to defend her against all assaults on her autonomy.

I haven’t been getting that lately where I have been. Now, I am not saying that all of the priests I encounter in my day-to-day are being milquetoasts.  In fact, there have been times when I have gotten into rather in-depth discussions post-Missam about pressing issues and I have great hope for the Church when I see the zeal not just of some of the laity but also and especially from the clergy (especially the more recent ordinands).

However, some of those who are in particular positions of power have been dangerously silent.  I am sorry but you can write about it all you want but if you don’t preach it from the pulpit with vigor and with NO uncertain terms … what good do you really do?  Anyone can write an article or a post.  It takes a priest (or deacon) to preach it at Holy Mass.

I am just a wee bit very disgusted and disappointed by the lack of mention that our present situation has gotten.  Do people not realize that our religious liberty is at stake?  Do people not realize that the upcoming election has more vital issues at stake than many of us can remember in our lifetimes?  Do they realize it?  Do they realize that lives are at stake?  Do they realize that the freedoms we so take for granted are under open attack?

Some think I and persons who think the like as me are “overreacting” or “making it a tempest in a teacup.”

Ha.  They say that now. And I understand that parishes cannot expressly say “You cannot vote for so and so but you can vote for so and so.”

But …

They can say: “These are the issues at stake: the fundamental right to life, traditional marriage, and religious liberty of all persons.  For a Catholic to vote for someone (NOT naming who) who supports such attacks on them such as abortion, redefining marriage, and mandating the violation of conscience as a matter of law, puts their salvation in jeopardy.  Objectively.”

That is fine.  No candidates are named.  Only the vital issues are mentioned and the implications of their undermining thereof.

Ugh.  I am just disgusted.  Sometimes it gets me so mad that some are just ignoring the reality or are doing what amounts to a half-assed attempt to act like they care.  It’s almost like some are afraid of reprisal.

What the heck does that matter?!?!  Christ and His Truth and  our fidelity thereto are the only things about which we should be worried.  Who really gives a crap if some people walk out?  That’s not your fault that they are poorly formed in conscience (though it may be kinda if you [a priest, of course] don’t preach solid doctrinal homilies WEEKLY/DAILY.  Priests are not ordained to make us laugh or smile.  They are ordained to teach, preach, and admonish.  They are ordained to be pastors of the souls entrusted to their care.  What good is a priest if his people are poorly-formed in the Faith and cannot defend it.  Yes, a good part of that is on the individual person but the priest also plays a role.

He does NO ONE a favor to ignore the “elephant in the living room” (NO, not that gawd-awful organization, those who know know.) and just move on like there is nothing going on.  It’s a hard thing to do sometimes but it’s more than worth it (especially in the context of eternity) to defend the Church and her teachings even when faced with adversity from within or without.  Is it not better to endure a bit of ill-will or lose a bit of prestige and save souls for Christ than to not  say anything , maintain one’s status quo, and leave souls in the open to be snatched up by the Evil One and his wiles?  I don’t know I think so.

I just needed to get that off my chest.  It’s been weighing on me and something happened today that just set me off.

I hope you all have a wonderful Sunday! In case I don’t post by Tuesday, make sure you vote with truth.  NO CATHOLIC can in GOOD CONSCIENCE (a well-formed conscience, that is) vote for BARACK OBAMA.  Not saying that Romney is a saint but we have to lessen the proliferation of evil in our country and Romney has the best chance of doing so this election cycle.

Pray for our country.  Pray for the candidates (both of their conversions, to varying degrees).  Pray for the Church not just in the world but especially in this country.  So much is at stake this election.  So much.  May we not throw it away on a whim.  May we not throw it away because of what other’s will think.  May we vote with the FULLNESS of TRUTH in mind and heart and with a respect for the DIGNITY of ALL HUMAN LIFE.

-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Culture of Life, Help me!, Musings, Random Fun-ness, Rant with a purpose and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

