Let me get this off my chest …

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in æternum! Amen.

Memorial of Saint Elizabeth of Hungary, religious

Sorry it has been so long since I posted and I know I promised a post but it was more a reactionary post to the hulabaloo that was the election of a couple weeks ago.  I would be lying if I said that I wasn’t very angry (a righteous anger) for many reasons.

First, the fact that HALF of persons who purport to be Catholic  voted for the most anti-Catholic and anti-life person who has ever run for the presidency.  That alone made my soul cry out and my stomach turn.  I think I got a bit sick when I heard that stat.  Absolutely disgusted.

Let me say this: “Social Justice” Catholics (as if there was any other kind beside “orthodox” Catholic), your caterwauling that “abortion is not the only issue” was the most dangerously and profoundly ignorant statement that I have heard in a while and now we’re going to see the intense damage it will do to all of us (thanks a lot btw).

HOW THE HECK IS THE RIGHT TO BE BORN NOT A SOCIAL JUSTICE ISSUE?!?!?!  Explain that to me logically and theologically and I will stand corrected.  Otherwise, What the Fishsticks is wrong with these poorly-formed consciences? (And what’s wrong with us that we allowed it to get this bad?!?!?!)

And if I hear “vote your conscience” one more time … Imma go Inquisition on something.  You can vote your conscience so long as it is well-formed.  If you have a poorly-formed conscience that somehow, in some convoluted way, divorces the right to be born from the rest of the corpus of Catholic Social Teaching then you have bigger issues to deal with besides caterwauling about increasing entitlements that put an undue burden on a shrinking tax base and businesses that are struggling to survive because of the crappy economic situation and the fact that the bigger government is, the less jobs that can be created.

Let me also say this: We are in for a fight like nothing else.  You think the past years have been hard?  HA!  Now we’re going to need to practice our faith more openly and faithfully than ever, even in the face of opposition and especially in the face of opposition.  When you have the Truth of Christ in its fullness, you don’t just practice it privately (hide it under a bushel basket), you practice it openly and faithfully (put it on a lamp stand to give Light (and Life) to all).

We also need more priests and bishops who will openly preach about the teachings of the Church (including and especially the sensitive topics).  Our priests and bishops are our shepherds; they are charged with the care of the souls put under their care.  For a cleric to not preach unabashedly the Church’s teachings does not just a great disservice to the Church but also puts souls (including his own) in danger.  I mean, we should be good stewards of the life God gave us but we should care all the more for the life of the world to come.  We have a limited amount of time on earth.  Our immortal soul endures long after the body has passed away and the state of our soul on earth will dictate what happens to it post-mortem.

Second: Women.  Women voted for Obama.  That blows my mind.  It really does.  I was disgusted that members of my sex think that the “right” to contraception and abortion on demand is more important than protecting life.  The fact that women view their God-given fertility as a disease and children as a punishment (Obama says they are … he said he wouldn’t want his daughter to be “punished” with a pregnancy) makes my heart cry.  The fact that the “right” to kill one’s children surmounted the fact that the present economic situation (which will only get worse now, mark my words) will make it harder for women to raise their families be it with their husbands or on their own.  The fact that the “right” to kill a life was seen as superior to all other issues affecting the country and themselves just made me sick.

And don’t even get me started on the gay “marriage” schtick and the entitlements.  Don’t even get me started on those.  Blargh.  Biologically, only a man and a woman can procreate by natural means (aka sexual intercourse).  Procreation is one of the two principal ends of marriage aside from uniting the spouses.  To take away one or both of those aspects and you don’t have a marriage.  Marriage is not just a social contract between two consenting entities who happen to like each other a lot and think that society should recognize their relationship officially.  Marriage is not just something that can be taken lightly and redefined on whim or as the cultural malaise dictates at the time.  Nor should marriage be seen as something that only lasts so long and can be ended when the two spouses have grown apart or tired of the other (= no “trial marriages” or “frivolous divorce”).

And about entitlements.  I make no secret of the fact that I tend to lean quite conservative both with social issues and policy issues.  I work.  I have worked since I graduated from high school.  I like that when I work I get remunerated for my time and effort.  I don’t mind the fact that a bit of my pay goes to help those who really need assistance: those who can genuinely not work for reasons outside their control, etc..  What makes me angry is when increasing amounts of my paycheck go to fund frivolous programs that are so weighed down with bureaucracy and red tape that fraud is profuse and nothing is done to fix it (many times I think the government wants more fraud so more people will be dependent on it).  I know someone who works in the health insurance industry and they tell me that fraud is everywhere and it just goes unchecked.  If the government really wants to hire people, they should hire people to track down and punish persons who commit fraud because there are so many who are denied benefits who really need it because of the fraudulent leeches on the system.  That makes me sick too.

Not to mention the fact that according to a friend of mine whose family was on welfare, the government basically punishes people on the dole for getting a job!  Ha!

It sure as heck seems to me that individual freedom and liberties are fair game when weighed against the prospect of free stuff.  Yeah, it’s free if you don’t work.  Those “Obama phones?”  Yeah, I and anyone who works instead of sucking off the system is paying for that.  ObamaCare, that behemouth of BS (RomneyCare was about 70 pages or so … I had daily reading assignments longer than that in college) that is thousands of pages and forces persons and businesses to pay for things that are contrary to their personal beliefs (Buh-Bye, religious liberty, ’twas nice knowing you!).  Thank the Lord and His Holy Mother that there are groups willing to put their neck on the line and say “Ummm, heck no!”

Did you ever notice that anything with Obama’s name on it is a taxpayer-funded entitlement?  Ha!  Talk about a legacy, right?  It’s the 21st equivalent of Hoovervilles and such!  Ha!

Because of what I have posted on my Facebook, I have had some rather fun debates with people.  I have also lost a few “friends” who apparently cannot fathom the idea that there are some who hold contrary viewpoints to theirs and that those viewpoints are backed up by facts, logic, stats, and such rather than just vitrolic ad hominems, stereotypes, BS rhetoric, and worn-out slogans and quasi-stats.

Blargh.  I needed that.  I think it’s clear what our mission as Catholics is now:

To live our beautiful God-given and Christ-founded Faith in its fullness both privately and (especially) publicly!  To practice more faithfully and not be ashamed to proclaim Christ as King of our hearts and our lives.  To support and encourage our leaders (both clerical and lay) who are at the forefront of the battle against the culture of death and those who hate the Church.  We aren’t the “Church Militant” because it sounds cool.  It is what we are: soldiers for Christ and His Church.  The time to be a casual Catholic has ended (not that there was ever truly a time to be that) and to be fully and proudly Catholic.

Our work is cut out for us.  The first step before we can work to reform the world around us is to clean up house around us: help those Catholics who were so poorly-formed to think that voting for a virulent promoter of the Culture of Death is somehow a means of practicing their Catholic Faith.  We also need encourage our clergy to not tip-toe around the issues.  They are not priests to make people feel good.  They are spiritual fathers not self-esteem coaches.  It doesn’t mean they have to go “Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God”  (to the extreme that is because Hell does exist and souls go there … for realz) on people but it also means that they can’t be saccharine and watered-down so much that it’s all a giant rose-colored happy talk.  Time to take the blinders off and put the army boots on.  We’re at war, people.  This isn’t a tea party with pleasantries and smiles.  Souls are at stake.

And don’t even get me started on the whole thing about Hostess Brands going under because of unions.  That just makes the sweet tooth and the businesswoman (my father has been in business since I was born … I grew up around it) in me … angry.

All right.  I needed that.

😉

-Allie

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Contemplations, Musings, Rant with a purpose, She isn't joking around here ... and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

