Habemus Papam! *Papist happy dance*

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in æternum!  Amen.

Pope Francis

Pope Francis I!

Wednesday of the Fourth Week of Lent

I woke up this morning in a good mood, my first thought: “Today’s the day.  I think we’re gonna have a new Pope today!”  Went to Mass and I said that I thought that today was the day.  I was told that it was too soon.  Never mind the fact that Pope Benedict XVI was elected on the fifth ballot which is pretty early from what I have read of conclaves.

Walking home after Mass, I prayed my daily Rosary and then listened to some Tchaikovsky and Mozart (I had my classical playlist on shuffle) and I started to whistle along.  Yes.  I was in a really good mood.  As soon as I realized that I was whistling happily, I thought, “Yep, we’ll have a new Pope today.”

Got home, got some stuff done, then turned on EWTN to watch the coverage.  They had picture-in-picture with a box with the chimney at the Sistine Chapel showing in case smoke came out during normal programming.

I got a headache so I decided to lay down for a bit.  Just as I could feel myself drifting into a nap, my eyes catch the caption on the tele: “Habemus Papam.”

I guess that nap has just been shelved.

Checked Twitter.  Habemus Papam.

Checked Facebook.  Habemus Papam.

Checked my feed reader.  Habemus Papam.

Yep.  We have a new Pope!

Then the messages started coming.  My phone was buzzing constantly.  Notifications up the wazoo on my Facebook.  Twitter updates constantly.  My inbox was filling with stuff from the various Catholic groups I follow.  ’twas hard to keep up with it all.

Then this happened:

Witnessing all of this made me even more proud to be Catholic.  In Holy Mother Church we have everything: Tradition, continuity, Truth, and so much more.  All of that built on the Rock of Peter with Christ as her Head.  You can’t go wrong with that.

The only thing that sucked about today?  Besides the headache that came back, that is …

This, which is what was the closing song at Mass this morning.  Everything was just fine until this hit:

“Sing a new church into being?!”  What?!  How is this a legit song for liturgical worship when the theology is soooo bad?!  Last time I checked, the Church that Christ founded is just fine, thankyouverymuch.

Don’t feel like subjecting yourself to an auricular penance today and would rather have a penance that must be read?

Have fun!

Summoned by the God who made us
rich in our diversity
Gathered in the name of Jesus,
richer still in unity.

Refrain: Let us bring the gifts that differ
and, in splendid, varied ways,
sing a new church into being,
one in faith and love and praise.

Radiant risen from the water,
robed in holiness and light,
male and female in God’s image (yes, but they are not the same.  They compliment each other.  Step away from the stole, lady.),
male and female, God’s delight.

Refrain

Trust the goodness of creation;
trust the Spirit strong within.
Dare to dream the vision promised,
sprung from seed of what has been (Ditch tradition?  Hmmm).

Refrain

Bring the hopes of every nation;
bring the art of every race.
Weave a song of peace and justice;
let it sound through time and space.

Refrain

Draw together at one table,
all the human family;
shape a circle ever wider
and a people ever free

How did this song get approved?  Seriously.  Banality and thinly-veiled agenda much?  Or maybe it just me being a rigid trad.  I dunno.

But I don’t care anymore because we have a new Pope!  Yay!

I have not been able to find any information on our new Papa’s stance on the Extraordinary Form.  Just a curiosity.  If anyone has any legit information on that, please share it in the comments with a source cited.

I have some friends who are sad that their favorites didn’t get elected.  First, I tell them that the Holy Spirit knows better than we do; He’s God like that.  Then, I tell them that there is always next time.  Some of my friends (myself included) liked Cardinal Tagle who I considered a wild card because many thought that while he was among the papabile, he was too young at 56 years old.  Of course, JPII was about that age too.  I think that, if the Good Lord wants it, it will happen.  Pope Francis was allegedly second after Pope Benedict in 2005 and see what happened.  God is with His Church always.  He’s at the helm.  Not anyone else.

All right, I have to get rid of this headache.  I have another post I have been working on for a week but it needs tweaking.  lol  But I had to post on the new Papa!

Viva il Papa Francesco!

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Church History and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

