Holy Mother Church, Batman! It’s Corpus Christi! With the Archbishop! YAY!

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in æternum!  Amen.

CorpusChristiArchbishop

Yeah, that’s Archbishop Vigneron.
Yeah, he’s leading a Corpus Christi Procession.
And yeah … I was there!!!!! YAY!!!!

The Solemnity of Corpus Christi (aka the Solemnity of the Most Holy Body and Blood of Christ)

Today.  Was.  Amazing!

Being the deprived young Catholic lady that I am (I am hoping something in the near future amends that …. PRAY FOR ME) … I have never been part of a Corpus Christi Procession before.

Well, if it’s gonna be your first time it may as well be all out.

Since chillaxing with the Pope for the feast was not feasible on many planes, the next best thing looked EVEN MORE AMAZING than it already was …

Why not go to Corpus Christi Mass with Archbishop Vigneron?  You know, the coolest, most epic Archbishop in all of Archbishop-dom (all you non-Detroiters are just jealous).  And yes, I am a huge supporter of His Excellency.  HUGE.  No one disses  the Archbishop in my presence.  If they do, they get schooled.

Archbishop Vigneron invited the traddy young adult group I am in (Juventutem Michigan) to Corpus Christi Mass for the past two years (as in this is the second year) and to participate actively in the Procession.  Well, some of us did.  I got to pound the pavement with Jesus too.  It was quite beautimous.

Mass was glorious.  Sure, the renovation isn’t quite my cup of tea (especially when you see how it used to look … I won’t post images … too depressing) but it’s the mother church of the AOD and there are still vestiges of the old look (they didn’t touch the windows … thank the Lord).

The music was pretty traddy.  More Latin than I probably would have gotten at my home parish.  Heard the whole Sequence (Lauda Sion) but in English (it was chanted well by the AOD Music Director whom I know).  It was overall and beautiful Mass musically.

Liturgically, it was glorious.  Smells, bells (the cathedral rang its bells), Latin (oh yes!), and lace (and lovely antique vestments!)!  I always love watching the MC (who in this case was the Archbishop’s Secretary … a good priest-friend of mine) because he was one of ones who taught me how to be a good MC back in the days of my MCing at my parish.  I saw all the little hand signals and head nods.  lol  It amused me.  And never forget the importance of the liturgical pillow.  Never.

Toward the end of Mass, we had the Procession through the neighborhood around the Cathedral that is a bit rough … just a half cup.  But the homes are beautiful.  I cannot help but imagine what they looked like when the area was bustling with families and the like (it was a more affluent area in the 1920s).  As we walked around the neighborhood, we gave out loaves of bread to persons on the street who were watching us (a bunch of Catholics processing in a largely non-Catholic area can be a sight).  We sang hymns to the Lord in the Blessed Sacrament (a majority of a traddy nature … YAY) and were a witness to the faith of the Church in her Lord in the Blessed Sacrament.

Did I mention His Excellency and the ministers had some lovely antique vestments on?

I did?

Well, they were glorious.  And traddy.  The Archbishop’s chasbule had Saint Therese of Lisieux on the back so I am kinda guessing that it dates from the 1920s when she was canonized.  I also think there is a story behind the monstrance used in the procession.

Procession

Behold. The transcendent aesthetics of Catholicism.
Oh, and behold the Word made Flesh … aka God.

Along the way, there were ladies with baskets of flower petals and they were spreading them about before the Lord. Loveliness!

I think I remember reading that the monstrance used was donated by some member/s of the Fisher family.  The Fisher brothers were a big deal in Detroit.  If you have ever heard of “Body by Fisher” … yeah … that was them.  They were a Catholic family and they did a lot for the Church in Detroit.  The old Archbishop’s mansion in Palmer Park was built by the brothers for Bishop Gallagher (before Detroit was elevated to an Archdiocese in 1938) and it’s the largest private home in the city.  It’s now owned by someone else because the Archdiocese sold it in the 1980s.

What can I say?  I am a Detroit Church history nut.  For real.

I can’t tell you what came over my heart today while I was in the Cathedral.  It happens every time I am there for Mass.  It’s that voice again (no, not that one) that is rather peaceful and yet persistent.  Peaceful in that a feeling of peace always comes with it.  I also felt a kind of surety that I don’t get when it’s just me thinking about something.  This was something that was to happen.  No matter what.  What did it say?  “You belong here.  You belong in Detroit.”

I smiled.  Because really, in the depths of my heart (my “heart of hearts” if you will), this has been a key part of my vocation from day one and it’s not just some attachment to home, it’s a part of my vocation.  I am really truly convinced of that because it’s been a constant thing that has come up in my prayer and meditation.  Just like how my being a spiritual mother/sister to priests has been a constant.  It’s just one of those things that hasn’t changed though I have and my circumstances have.

What also happened as He (and I am convinced it was the Lord) told me this over and over was also, “Stop worrying, Allie.  Do you not think I can take care of you?  If I want you to do something, nothing can get in the way of it happening.  Be patient and trust.”

That is my interpretation of what came over me.  But I think it gets it rather well.

Because those two things have always been issues for me: patience and trust.

Patience because, like so many of us, I want to have things now now now.

It don’t work like that and that reality annoys my impatient self.

Trust.

The big kahuna which one would think would be NBD (no big deal) with God because, you know, He’s God and that is a good reason to trust Him.

But no.

I have to have control over everything and if things don’t go my way … then I get freaked out and anxiety-ridden.  I hate that.

I have to learn how to put everything, big or small, into the hands of God and truly leave them there.  Truly.  No strings.  No thick ropes attached, no micrometer width string attached.  Nothing.  Completely and totally given to God.

Easier said than done.

But He reminds me constantly.

Trust Me.

Trust Me.

Trust Me.

And …

Be patient.

Be patient.

Be patient.

So that’s what I have to work on.  Among other things.

But I know that God will provide.  I need to let God take care of things and just go with the flow.

I mean, at least I am not on the fence anymore.  Like my SD reminds me (my words, not his): “If you were to get off on the wrong side of the fence, the Lord would just pick you up and put you on the right side in His own way.”

Being God, He can do that.

I am excited to see what the Lord has in store for me.  I really am.  That’s probably another reason why those two issues have been so pronounced of late.  I am so excited about what the Lord want to do through me for His Church that I want it all to happen now!  I am so anxious to see what He wants me to do that I want to get everything in order NOW and take care of it NOW so I can get going NOW.

I don’t work like that and I need to realize that and embrace the great and beautiful mystery that is God’s gradual revelation of His will in my life.

All right, I still have to get ready for bed.  Like Imma get any sleep?  HA!  I am so excited about this whole thing.  I am just beaten down with Church lady gids.

Speaking of “Church lady gids,” here is another reason why I probably shan’t get much sleep tonight:

ArchbishopAndMe

Honored and blessed am I.

Yeah.  Now I am totes legit.  Ignoring the windswept hair, crooked veil, and Our Lady of Good Counsel (lovingly) creeping up my neck.  The veil is a mess (and my hair too) because this was after the Procession and it was rather windy at times.  I nearly lost my veil (which was bobby-pinned well thanks to a random lady who helped my OCD self get it just so) at one point during the walk around the block.  I think my heart stopped when I felt that gust of wind and the lace vacate the top of my head.  Thank God for my cat-like reflexes and the lady next to me who saw my ninja-quickness grabbing for the flying piece of Catholic lady lace.

This alone made my day (besides everything else).  Archbishop Vigneron is such a wonderful, humble, and prayerful man.  I am so thankful to the Lord that He deigned that he come back to lead the Church of Detroit.  :)

All right.  Time to get ready for bed.  I hope you all had a very blessed Corpus Christi!  Remember, the Lord is waiting for YOU in any Catholic Church.  For YOU.  So spend some time with Him.  Pray.  Do some spiritual reading.  Or just sit there and spend time with Him.  He loves it all because He loves YOU.  Individually.  Uniquely.  Completely.  Unconditionally.  He wants to touch your heart.  He wants to speak to your soul.  He wants to fill your entire being with His infinite love and mercy.  All you have to do is LET HIM.

Nighty night!

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Church Lady Stuff, Contemplations, Detroit Stuff, Feast Days, Musings, Prayer, The Church Year, Vocation and Discernment and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

