Gotta collect them all!

A.M.D.G.
J.M.J.
A.T.C.

Laudetur Iesus Christus!
Nunc et in æternum! Amen.

Yes. I did mean that as a play on the Pokemon slogan saying thing. No. I don’t have Pokemon Go on my phone but I know plenty of people who do and make fun of it all you want but it’s gotten more people on their feet walking than Michelle Obama’s multi million/billion dollar fitness program has. God bless America. Though I do have Pokemon Red, Blue, Yellow, and Silver (I know, kick it old school, Ms. Allie!).

But let’s get onto our topic.

Take a wild guess.

Yup, we’re going to talk about one of my fave topics!

Veiling!

When I resumed veiling about four years ago, I got an ivory classic D-shaped mantilla and from then on kinda stuck to the standard ivory, white, and black. I thought myself adventurous when I got a silver one once. I know, what a brazen hussy I was!

Well, if a silver veil indicates a brazen hussy then now I must be the mother of harlots or something.

Why?

Because, as of about a week ago, I am now the owner of a set of mantillas (95 percent being Spanish style mantillas) in every liturgical color.

Green? Got it.

Violet? Got it.

Red? Got it. It’s the one non-Spanish mantilla I have but I have got a store credit from Veils by Lily so that will soon be amended.

White? Got it in ivory. White doesn’t quite work with my skin tone.

Rose? Yes, even that color. And it is rose. Not pink.

Heck, I even have gold! And it was blessed by Archbishop Vigneron and touched to a relic of Saint Anne (the patroness of the AOD) on her feast day at the mother church of the AOD, Sainte Anne de Detroit (the second oldest continuously running Catholic parish in the United States).

Don’t believe me?

Here’s photographic proof!

13900299_867089524261_8862729408570172540_n

I’ve also got silver and blue infinity veils.

 

12191697_819402439561_3276862156296817271_n

Selfie with Saint Therese wearing my fave mantilla

And a royal blue mantilla that is my favorite of them all. It’s such a perfection Marian blue.

I’ll be ordering a red Spanish mantilla soon. Just waiting for another sale to pop up on those.

But yes, I have a complete collection including velvet bags that are mostly coordinated to the color of the veil they contain.

 

Looking back at the four years since I resumed veiling, I am glad I did and I am glad I got past the nay-sayers. There weren’t many but there were some. I probably posted about that at some point.

It’s been quite wonderful to see the gradual resurgence of the devotion of women covering their heads in the Real Presence of the Lord in the Eucharist.

I mean, not that long ago, one would have never seen something like this …

fr-walker-mourners

Young women covering their heads/veiling

Some persons much more trad than me think that all women should cover their heads. Period. They use 1 Corinthians 11:3-11 as their biblical basis (and it’s a good one I even use) and some of them with a pretty rusty understanding of how Canon Law works will cite c. 1262 from the 1917 CIC (mulieres autem, capite cooperto (covered head) et modeste vestitae, maxime cum ad mensam Dominicam accedunt (approaching the table of the Lord)) but then they tend to forget c. 6 of the 1983 CIC that states “When this Code takes force [First Sunday of Advent 1983], the following are abrogated: the Code of Canon Law promulgated in 1917”

Does that mean that veiling has been banned? Cast into the fiery furnace like all those blasted felt banners and UGLY vestments ought to be?

Heck no! It’s just not mandated anymore. A woman can walk into a church today with her head uncovered (and attend Mass in BOTH Forms) and not have to worry about being in violation of any ecclesiastical law. At least, that’s the understanding I got from my Canon Law prof at the Seminary.

What do we learn from all this?

That it is a matter of devotion. That’s it. A woman can just as freely choose to veil as she can choose not to. A woman should never be pressured to veil nor should ever she be pressured to not veil. I got the latter when I resumed and I gave into it for a while (about a year) but then I picked it up again remembering that it wasn’t for them that I was veiling, it is for God and to honor Him and His Holy Mother that I veil.

therealpresence3-b

Check out Veils by Lily for some real beauties!

One thing connected to veiling that bugs the crap out of me is then generalizations that can go with it. Some will stereotype veiling women as being “holier than thou” while some more hardcore (borderline “Who is the Pope right now?” or “Is there a Pope right now?”) will look at women who don’t as less devout.

And I guess that is all rooted in our fallen human nature and our desire for self-affirmation even if it comes at the cost of unjustly belittling others.

We have to work on that. I know I do.

Just like how some are into Praise and Worship and others tend to like the more traditional stuff (some even like both!), some women derive a great deal of good from the practice of veiling while others might not find it to fit their personality or their spirituality.

One is not objectively better than another. Liking one and not the other is not wrong nor is it indicative of some spiritual ill nor superiority.

Now does that mean I am not going to encourage the practice of veiling?

Nope. Because much like our love and relationship with Jesus Christ, which He told us not to hide, when we have discovered something beautiful that can be very helpful to ourselves, we share it.

I have found the devotion of veiling in the Presence of the Lord in the Blessed Sacrament to be very grace-filled therefore I want to share it with anyone and everyone.

Some have found certain prayer styles to be helpful to their spiritual lives so what do they do? They tell others! They teach others how to do it so that perhaps then the Lord can work in their hearts and lives as He has through theirs.

So true promotion of a particular devotion or practice should never be to the detriment of another perfectly valid devotion or practice. Nor should the practice of or the lack of practice of a particular devotion or spirituality be seen as detracting from the fidelity of another person, provided they remain faithful to Christ and His Church in the fundamentals (don’t go denying the Incarnation, the Theotokos, the Real Presence, the validity and infallibility of the Papacy, etc.).

All right. I think I have written enough so far. But if you or anyone you know is interested in veiling or learning more about it, check out the “Thinking About Veiling” tab at the top or click here.

 

About Ms. Allie

I am a Catholic young woman who works as a Theology teacher at a Catholic high school in the Archdiocese of the Detroit. In Spring of 2015, I graduated with an MA in Theology with a concentration in Systematic Theology. My MA thesis was titled: "Mary as Woman of the Eucharist in the Theology of Pope Saint John Paul II." I also hold a BA in Theology (with a dabbling in Philosophy) and is a member of Theta Alpha Kappa (θΑΚ), the National Theology/Religious Studies Honor Society. Prayers are appreciated.
This entry was posted in Church Lady Stuff, Fun with Canon Law, Liturgy and Prayer, veiling. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

